We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We left early!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Club of Sandestin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Club of Sandestin
Ranked #24 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We left early!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Bay Club is a low rent hotel (not a resort) located within the Sandestin resort complex. Almost no amenities at Bay Club itself except for grills located next to the parking garage for that nice exhaust taste in you meat. They did remodel the rooms - looks like lipstick on a pig. Very old, worn out hotel. The hallway leading to out room was a dungeon. It was only 6' to 6'3" high ceiling with water stained carpeting, peeling paint, rusty access panel in the ceiling along with fire extinguisher system to hit you head on - about 5"11" clearance. The rooms had a very nice kitchen but only big enough for one. The living room/dining room was a very small combination. Decorative style was Motel 6 chic. They do exchange towels and take out the trash every day. You leave them outside of your room and they take the trash out and exchange the towels. Internet service was slow. Entrance, elevators and hallways were not air-conditioned and very hot. Lobby did have A/C. Very limited front desk hours. If you had a problem afters hours there was a contact number to call. Only about 10% of the room had a view. Have look over the parking lot and the other half look out to the bay but most are block by another resort and 50+ foot high pine trees. We were on the bay side on the 4th floor and had no view due to the tress. The place was so depressing we left on Thursday into a Saturday to Saturday stay. There are SO MANY options at Sandestin, skip this one!!! I was going to rate it terrible but upgraded to poor because of the updated room interior and new kitchen. --- Maintenance loves to start work about 7:30 and drive trucks down the alley behind the hotel. They woke me up every morning. Grumpy, unfriendly staff. Room not ready at check-in time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Recently remodeled, the Bay Club is a great value being located in the Sandestin resort. Many amenities. Lots to do. A great family place for vacation. Surrounding Destin area presents activities and restaurants for every interest. Great pools, beautiful beach, and playgrounds for children. Definitely Give the Bay Club a try.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been staying here for several years and really enjoyed it, BUT now it has been totally renovated from fresh outside paint to all new furnishings, including linens, and the new flat panel TV's are a major improvement. Very family friendly with excellent amenities including a free shuttle to the Wharf and the beach. It appears that the entire staff, from housekeeping to management, wants to make certain that guests are pleased with their stay. Highly recommend Bay Club!!! A new fitness center is under construction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this as a last minute. We wanted to try a different area. The beaches are nearby and are beautiful. Destin is about ten miles away. The usual shopping, a waterfront wharf experience exist here. The wharf area is very nice. The Bay Club is a large scale multi-level development with several golf courses, beach access and a wharf, boutique shopping restaurant area which is nicely appointed. As with most other Intrawest facilities, there is a bit of everything, overpriced
The building we were assigned to was dated, the furniture and amenities were dated. While we were there, they were redoing the rooms. Upstairs above us hammering started at 0730 am and went on for two days. Both elevators were tied up with relocating furniture. We left three days early. While I realize renovations are temporary, they should not have booked rooms in areas where renovations were taking place. This was inconsiderate. Therefore, I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Research this place carefully before booking. You are not near other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I stay at Bay Club because I am an owner of week 7 it is the most comfortable place I have ever stayed at the front desk people are very helpful and informative. The condos are very large and very well equips . I am thinking of buying a second week.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Emile1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club of Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club of Sandestin

Property: Bay Club of Sandestin
Address: 120 Sandestin Blvd N, Destin, FL 32550-4564
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club of Sandestin 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Club of Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Of Sandestin Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing