We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little better than Red Lobster”

Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 306 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!
Central, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a little better than Red Lobster”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

And that aint saying much. And the place kind of smells like it needs a deep clean. The wait staff
is average at best. The fish was ok but nothing special. The sides were ok but again average.
I thought this place was hi brow from walking by but its not. Its just an average eatery and
the place was almost empty which is a sign.The prices were way higher than they should be.I dont know what the other reviewers are talking about.
I wouldnt repeat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    128
    72
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great but dont pay extra for salad”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

the seafood gumbo was phenomenal as well as the Shanghai the food platter and the food Trio all wonderful. But the salads were terrible just lettuce and dressing and cost $7.00 totally not worth it get soup or other side instead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VORchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole, uk
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go for happy hour!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Went twice here for happy hour after friend's recommendation and it was excellent value. Really nice sliders, fish tacos, wings, shrimp for $5 each and draft beer $3. Delicious food and great value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank helwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday while out exploring the area. It was a beautiful day so I sat on the patio. There were many choices, some of which were fresh caught. I actually had a Lobster cobb salad with a delicious lobster tail served on the side. The salad was out of this world and the service was spectacular. Would definitely go back if I have the opportunity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced sham”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Mitchell's, while having the privilege of being located in immediate proximity to some of the best seafood in the world, treats this privilege with disdain by overpricing and overlooking it. Every dish ordered by the six adults in our party was dry, while at least 3 were not served as per the menu. Additionally, it was two hours from the time we were seated to when we received our food. And we had a reservation! The only "concession" to this delay was a qualified agreement by the waitress to bring an additional plate of bread since the original plate contained only five (small, dry) pieces (brought to a table of six). Then, as if there needed more proof that this restaurant is managed by someone more concerned with its exorbitant profits than its (initially) exuberant patrons, the wait staff was rude, even insisting that we be content with what we had and that any mistakes were only our flawed perception. When the bill arrived one entree was overpriced (by $3). When brought to her attention, the waitress claimed that she believed the price was right. After our insistence, the bill was returned to the kitchen, only to return corrected, with the explanation that, "It was only a couple of dollars."
If the food is good, we will eat anywhere. Service and atmosphere, while a consideration, rank lower on our list of criteria for a good restaurant.
Don't be fooled by the flashy atmosphere of Mitchell's. The only reason this review gets 2 stars instead of 1 is that the mashed potatoes were very good.

Helpful?
Thank wsnuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin also viewed

Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing