We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nantucket cottages”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
2 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Destin, Florida

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicole D
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again :-(”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was impressed with the location. The beach wasn't a far walk and there were 2 public access spots. The place itself was something to be desired. We drove through the night from Kentucky so we got there pretty early. We went to the desk and checked in and let them know the situation about getting there earlier than we expected. They were super friendly and said they would let us know if we could check in early. If house keeping got the rental cleaned earlier than expected. We got the call that we could check in and that was great! We were in our room 3 hours before check in. As we pulled in house keeping was just packing up a carpet cleaner. So we were thinking ok great nice clean carpets. The guy told us the carpet would be damp for about 4 hours. We thought no big deal because we had planned on just unloading and going straight to the beach for a few hours. The carpet in the bedroom DID NOT DRY UNTIL THE FOLLOWING EVENING! The 4 hours we were told of when it would be dry turned into about 36 hours later! That is the biggest complaint I have of our stay. It was really uncomfortable to be walking around on soggy carpet! There were little things that just added up after that. For what ever reason I was really excited about having an ice maker. I love my ice. The description on the room said ice maker and there was actually NO ice maker in the freezer. I've stayed at many resorts and other places I've stayed had way more amenities. I was disappointed in the lack of the "extras". For instance, garbage bags, TOILET PAPER, a blow dryer, pillows and blankets for the pull couch. We visited the pool once and maintenance decided it would be a good idea to clean the pool around 2 in the afternoon. It was closed for about 30 minutes. I would think it would be more logical to clean the pool early in the morning or early evening NOT during the middle of the afternoon. All in all the stay was okay. The area was quiet and the location was nice. I honestly wouldn't stay here again though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the location.
Liked least: Soggy carpet!!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We’re truly sorry that your stay in Nantucket Cottages did not exceed your expectations.

Your feedback is important to us and we will work with the staff to make sure these issues do not arise again. The unit does not have an icemaker in the refrigerator due to its size and we will correct the information on the website to reflect that. Any inventory items such as toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. are included in the initial set-up and it is typically each guest’s responsibility to provide additional toiletry items if needed, however we are glad to replace these items when notified by our guests. We apologize for the damp carpet and will make sure that we work with our staff to better accommodate our guests when we have to clean the unit carpets.

We hope that you will return in the future and are sure that we can find accommodations that meet your needs and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Shane Browning
Area Operations Manager
Central Destin Office
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing