We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable mini-suites in Destin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Destin
N. Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable mini-suites in Destin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This Country Inn & Suites is located on the north side of Hwy 98 near restaurants, grocery store, etc. It is a short walk from the Destin Commons shopping area. It would be a long walk to the beach - if that is your destination (no pun intended).
The suites are two rooms and a bathroom. The bedroom of my unit had a king size bed, dresser, flat-screen TV, and two nightstands. It has two smaller closet alcoves. The bath has a tub and shower and one sink. The second room has a pullout couch, small table, dresser with flat-screen TV, chair and wet bar with small fridge.
The rooms need renovation. Frankly they are beat up. The bathroom was very well cleaned so I think they are doing their best. The bed and linens were very comfortable.
Breakfast is on the cheap side for chain hotels that include breakfast. I think a lot of the hot items must be pre-made and heated. It's ok and it's convenient.

Room Tip: You can walk up the center staircase to the rooms on the 2nd floor. The back rooms face the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCR_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    69
    43
    14
    19
See reviews for
93
47
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I can't find anything I really liked about this place, except for the friendly people at check-in. I would not choose to stay here again. Our 'suite' is in desperate need of updating. Dim lighting, peeling wall paper and it just felt old and yuk. Even the cookies tasted old and stale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clemsonjenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this hotel on Priceline as an express buy for a family vacation to Destin because the hotel offered breakfast and free parking, so it was a very good value. They also have a heated pool and hot tub as well as a gym with a few pieces of equipment. The breakfast was very good, including eggs, sausage, potatos and more. The rooms have flat screen tvs, very comfortable beds. The bathroom has a hair dryer and nightlight. They offer complimentary daily paper, including the Destin paper on Sundays. Cookies, including fresh baked ones, are available in the evenings, and coffee and tea around the clock. They even have a library of books in the lobby for those who need reading material. The front desk clerk was very helpful and patient when I asked her about restarants. The room was very clean except we found a previous customer's dirty socks under the bed as we were checking the room before we left.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Country Inn & Suites in Destin, Florida is conveniently located. I loved that I could walk to Publix for groceries, go shopping at the mall, and visit the beach easily from this hotel. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The cookies were not what I expected (I thought they would be fresh baked cookies) but one of the nights a batch of fresh cookies were baked; my family and I really enjoyed this feature. It would be a nice touch if they were fresh baked throughout the day vs the cookie jar of what seemed to be store-bought "just okay" cookies. I booked two rooms to be right next to each other but initially our rooms where divided by the the staircase. Day two of our stay the staff contacted our boys room to indicate they would have to be moved to another room due to work scheduled in the room. Once we went to discuss the changes with the desk staff they ended up giving us a suite and we gave our room to our boys. This hotel is in desperate need of updates. I would still stay here again but I would love to see the interior refreshed by the next time we do. The tired and worn fixtures/decor is the only reason I give this hotel an average review. We booked this room through Priceline name your own price. I initially was a little concerned once the bid was awarded based on the pictures and reviews but end the end we all had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roshaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is located about 4 blocks from the beach, at walking distance. The hotel is easy to reach when you enter Destin crossing the new bridge. It is surrounded by a nice shopping area and in front of a golf course. You find a Publix grocery store near the hotel as well as a Wallgreens, several restaurants, cinema, etc all at walking distance. Now that I've been to Destin, I would like to stay in a hotel at the beach, because most of the beaches are private, meaning that you don't have free access to any place at the beach, you have to enter via one of the several public entrances. The notel offers free breakfast which is something that my wife and I like. The swimming pool is nice as well as the spa. The fitness room is bad. The internet connection is slow. Although it is clean, the hotel shows signs of aging, I've been to better Country Inns but this one is still at an acceptable level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulo_MSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Close enough to the harbor to drive and catch the action, but far enough away to be quiet. The beach was very close and there were great restaurants in our vicinity. The staff was exceptionally accomodating, and the continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Business travel can be a pain but this place makes up for it. This place is quiet, nice pool, very clean, good beds, good internet, staff is friendly, polite and helpful, good location. Added perk is the free breakfast. Not the standard continental, a real breakfast with real hot eggs, bacon, toast, etc. Hope all Country Inns are this great because it's my new choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Lobby has a wide staircase to all floors so you don't have to wait on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.2 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#20 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Destin
Days Inn Destin
#36 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Drive East, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing