We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Destin
MInneapolis
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is located about 4 blocks from the beach, at walking distance. The hotel is easy to reach when you enter Destin crossing the new bridge. It is surrounded by a nice shopping area and in front of a golf course. You find a Publix grocery store near the hotel as well as a Wallgreens, several restaurants, cinema, etc all at walking distance. Now that I've been to Destin, I would like to stay in a hotel at the beach, because most of the beaches are private, meaning that you don't have free access to any place at the beach, you have to enter via one of the several public entrances. The notel offers free breakfast which is something that my wife and I like. The swimming pool is nice as well as the spa. The fitness room is bad. The internet connection is slow. Although it is clean, the hotel shows signs of aging, I've been to better Country Inns but this one is still at an acceptable level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulo_MSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
103
56
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Close enough to the harbor to drive and catch the action, but far enough away to be quiet. The beach was very close and there were great restaurants in our vicinity. The staff was exceptionally accomodating, and the continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Business travel can be a pain but this place makes up for it. This place is quiet, nice pool, very clean, good beds, good internet, staff is friendly, polite and helpful, good location. Added perk is the free breakfast. Not the standard continental, a real breakfast with real hot eggs, bacon, toast, etc. Hope all Country Inns are this great because it's my new choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Lobby has a wide staircase to all floors so you don't have to wait on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were looking for a hotel to stay at for a first trip to Destin. The Country Inn and Suites had decent pricing and decent reviews. The hotel is not located on the beach nor has a beach view. However, everywhere hotel in Destin is within a short driving distance to the public beaches.

We stayed on the second level. The room was clean and the mattresses firm. The bathroom door did not lock. But the mini fridge was great for keeping our beverages cool.


The wi-fi never did work while we stayed there. However, there was a public access computer that you could use in the lobby. The most frustrating part of our experience was waiting almost every morning for the lady who was suppose to be running the breakfast center to get off her facebook. I think having an employee using the public access computer to surf facebook while making guests wait and not doing their own job is very unprofessional.

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. I expected it to be average. Our next trip we plan to spend a little more and stay at a beach front hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second of three levels. It was alright. Maybe the third floor may be better, but pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverValleyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family recent took a short trip over to Destin for a last bit of summer fun.

This hotel was conveniently located near the Destin Commons with plenty of other shopping & restaurants right near by.

The hotel was clean and the rooms were roomy & comfortable.

I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, but, it was free, so who can complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaysideFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all, I reserved 2 rooms with 2 beds on-line and when we went to check in they did not have my reservation. Thankfully, they did have king suites available and although we needed rooms with 2 beds, it all worked out just fine. This is a clean hotel. The entire place needs a makeover but I'd rather stay somewhere clean and outdated that updated and dirty. The prices were reasonable compared to others in the area which is why we chose this hotel.

The breakfast was good.

** As a side note, I left a nightlight in the bathroom of my room. When I realized this, I called and the desk clerk went to look to see if she could find it and called me back. She did indeed find it but when we stopped to pick it up, it was nowhere to be found. Hmmm! It was not an expensive nightlight but I found it interesting how quickly it was lost all over again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the building overlook a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is showing its age. We ususally stay at the Marriott but we got a good price in fact free. We joined the points reward program and earned enough points for a free stay.

The upgraded us to a king size suite so "Whats not to Like". O.K.

I like the convenience of the restaurants right across the street, T.G.I.F. but the Wine store was the "Best". Very classy.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to a suite. If the hotel is not full they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#11 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing