We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwinds at Sandestin
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
DFW
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice view, but that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Unit 4789 has a nice full beach view. Great sunset view! However, unit has been redone in the "cheapest" way! Have ya heard of barstool height patio furniture so you can see the view without it being obstructed by the top patio railing. Granite counters-no updates on appliances. How cheap is a microwave with a turntable?? How long has it been since you've seen one without it?? Flatscreen TV on living room wall--didn't swivel(light distortion from sun) Great size bathroom but no upgrade in ventilation--$10 box fan in closet--really!!! Built-in end tables in bedroom and egg crate mattress topper not what one would expect in higher end resort property maybe cheap rental apartment. Carpets need to be stretched in both living area and bedroom. This could be dangerous with an elderly couple. Check out time being 10 a.m. we had taken all of our belongings to our vehicle except for my purse and one sack of clothes only to be called by our rental agency at 10:15 telling us that the housekeeping people said that we were not out of the unit. Our stay was in October! Certainly not "peak" season. It's just the little things that add up to the whole experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank destinsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

You can't beat being right on the gorgeous beach. The amenities at the resort are perfect, and you don't even have to leave to have nightlife - including food, bars, etc. Very close to the outlets which is great. Staff is very nice and courteous. Loved it!

Room Tip: ask for a higher unit facing west for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

So, Sandestin has seen better days but it hasn't lost all its shine. This extremely large resort has been around a long time and it shows. But, considering the price you pay for gulf front condos (in this case Westwinds), it's a good deal. Now having said that, I have rented in Westwinds for years from multiple rental agencies -- VRBO, Sandestin and My Vacation Haven. By far, renting via VRBO is the way to go. Do your research on VRBO and you save a ton vs renting through Sandestin. Sure, you give up some resort amenities because you chose to save big bucks with VRBO but you really won't miss them... really, you won't. The price difference is astonishing. Oh, and chose off season to avoid the "jorts" wearing crowds... like I said, Sandestin peaked in the 80's and draws some loud-ish sorts that also peaked in the 80's but you can dodge most of that during the off season.

Bottom line, Westwinds truly gets 3.5 stars b/c of the overall resort. But, it's affordable and gulf front which begs some forgiveness. Do your research and look for a renovated unit on VRBO with great reviews... then reach out to the owner/manager and see if the communication is prompt, courteous and professional. Our last stay (early Sep 2012) was outstanding with a unit that was even better than the photos, absolutely spotless along with an owner who was incredible to work with.

Set a realistic expectation and you will get exactly what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATL-Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We have enjoyed all of our visits to Sandestin and Westwinds. This year we were on the 7th floor in an end unit - near the rubbish chute. The room was very quiet and comfortable. The walk-in shower in the master bath was very nice. Our views were very nice. This unit has 2 balconies so when the breezes were nice we would open both balcony doors and a nice breeze through the unit.
We have stayed oceanfront several times and probably prefer this as it is more private (you really can't see in any other condo or it's balcony) but we were not disappointed by this unit.
HELPFUL HINT -
When driving over to Baytown Village park at the Grand Sandestin - it's a very pleasant 2-minute walk over.
During the day we don't lug beach chairs
back and forth - we set up on the beach and leave it until we ce up to our condo for the day - we have never had a problem with theft - use your beat judgement on this.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am sitting in my room, 4762, writing this review. It is 11:58 p.m. The walls are shaking. The kids upstairs have been running around the room for an entire week, last night until 4 in the morning. The kids down the hall think its fun to run up and down the halls and ring the neighbor's doorbells, and their parents join them on occasion and raise hell with them. I have yet to see one sober adult, with the exception of my wife, since we've been here, The neighbors yell and smoke like chimneys, and on two occasions two drunken idiots have obscenely and physically threatened their wives. I have witnessed kids being slapped and abused by parents (I use that term loosely) out of pure meanness and stupidity. We picked a bad week, I hope. Can't wait to leave (early) tomorrow! $3,000 a week for this? Fool me once, Westwinds, and that's it!

Room Tip: Sorry, but the only tip I have is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ge0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We rented condo #4718 for 7 days and I must say after what we spent I was very dissapointed upon entering the room. The floors were filthy, dishes needed to be re washed before using, rugs were covered in stains and the smell was haunting. I had to go and buy plug ins and spray air freshner in the vents several times daily to bare the smell. The furniture needs updating and tv's were partially functional. The bifold door in the master bedroom closet was broken and several lights were out. On the other hand once we held our breath and got out of the condo the resort was nice. The setup was ideal with a beautiful beach. This resort is NOT close to town so expect to do some driving. I do not feel we will stay here again only for the fact of the filthiness of the condo.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destinyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Sandestin resort is a huge property and there are so many choices to choose from. We were pretty happy with 4789 at the Westwinds.

Pros:
Unit had great views of ocean and sunsets.
Unit had two balconies.
Bed was very comfortable.
Bathroom was large.
Entrance was spacious. And we didn't have to share a hallway with other units.
It was very quiet. we slept well.
Large pool.
Easy walk to beach. This is such a great swimming beach for kids. And we got some nice boogie boarding waves once we got there.
The Baytowne Wharf across the highway was a short drive for dining options.

Cons:
Next to the shared refuse disposal so it was sometimes smelly.
The stove was electric. We cooked a lot so a gas burner was preferred. There might be other properties with gas stoves if your family cooks out every night.
The microhood range didn't work great. And the cross ventilation didn't allow for kitchen odors (from fish fries) to escape the unit. Whenever we cooked, you could smell it down the hallway.

Overall, we enjoyed the location of our unit. We'd recommend this unit.

Bonus: If you're staying in Sandestin, you get free bike rentals and one hour free kayak for one kayak at the Baytowne Wharf across the highway.

Room Tip: Try to find a unit like 4789 where you can have your own hallway to your room. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marinasurferchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds at Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds at Sandestin

Property: Westwinds at Sandestin
Address: 9300 US Highway 98 W, Destin, FL 32550-7268
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Westwinds At Sandestin Hotel Destin
Westwinds Sandestin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing