We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unheated pools, no outdoor jacuzzi, no water view, no kidding!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club
Ranked #54 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unheated pools, no outdoor jacuzzi, no water view, no kidding!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

We are RCI members -- two adults, a 12-year-old, and an 8-year-old -- who (encouraged by tripadvisor ratings) traded into the Bay Club Sandestin for spring break.

A word of advice to others considering a stay at the Bay Club: DON'T. Life is too short to stay in sub-par places.

The Bay Club is nearly 40 years old, and now seems to be a forgotten part of the 2,400-acre Sandestin grounds. It has become so marginalized that the Bay Club does not even appear on internal maps of the complex.

From our condo we faced a parking lot and uninspired landscaping. I saw the view from the "bay" side, and -- though nicer -- wasn't anything to brag about, even from the fourth floor. Wireless access does not rise above the second floor, and even then the connection is dropped every few minutes. There is one desktop computer in the "media room" but you have to sign up at the front desk -- and pay for usage. Also, the media room (which includes a TV and is the home of bingo games) closes at 5 p.m., so frustrated fellow guests would squat outside on the floor, trying to get a connection on their notebooks. Families sat forlornly around the pools, as even the hardiest of kids couldn't bear the chill of the water.

The club's lobby also closes at 5 p.m., except for Friday and Saturday nights, and guests enter through an unlocked sidedoor. There is no security in the bulding after hours. Shuttle vans are available to take you to and fro, but the waits were so long we usually ended up taking the car and chancing the parking.

With the exception of Tina, the friendly front-desk clerk, the borders on surly. We were called on our last day to see if we wanted a "members' update" or had any comments. I expressed our dismay about the unheated pools, the lack of outdoor whirlpool, the extra charge for what should be basics. She sighed and admitted that she had heard these complaints before, but nothing had changed.

Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. This is the sort of place that makes you happy to pack up and go home.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank yippeeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2005

My family bought into the Bay Club of Sandestin a year or so before they borke ground and we have gone here every year since it opened. Such a great investment, as the area keeps getting prettier and more welcoming by the year. The surroundings are unbeatable, the new shops/resturants/activites are superb, and I'm really glad, even though I got married and moved to London England and we have a daughter now, that we can still meet up with my parents once a year, stay in the old faithful condo room I stayed in as a child (yet more updated and every few years re0fitted and updated). It gives memories to build on, highly recommended for families who may not be able to afford the cost of Orlando every year or who want a more relaxing vacation. This is a great place for all ages. I had tons of fun as a kid (and now there's a lot more for kids to do around Destin than when I was a kid), plenty of upscale things for adults to do, sandy clean beaches to stroll down (especially nice to take beach chairs out at night and sit and listen to the tides and look at the stars), and all round---A++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

I stayed here in May 2004 with three children ages 6, 3, and 10 months and I was pleasantly surprised at how much the children enjoyed it. The bay front pool is very kid friendly. In early May, the big pool wasn't quite warm enough for the kids, but they really enjoyed the kiddie pool and sandbox. And I enjoyed the bay view of the pool. There was a restaurant that served lunch poolside, which was really nice. Also, there was a poolside cabana that served drinks in the afternoon. The tram stop was located close by and the tram showed up quickly once called. The furnishings in our room were pleasant, not grand, but the bay view was beautiful. Consider staying here if you are on a budget and still want to experience all of the amentities of the Sandestin resort.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank houstonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2004

Excellent location and very nice rooms in the Bay Club 2. By far this is my favorite place in Destin.

Helpful?
7 Thank UGA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2004

We stayed at the Bay Club of Sandestin and the resort was beautiful. They have a self contained resort with resturants and shopping. We did not have to drive to the resturants or the beach because they offer a free shuttle. The condo was over looking the bay and it was beautiful. Alot of things for our kids to do, they offered activities for the kids every day. We went ofer Easter weekend the weather was great and the kids loved it. We will go back again next year

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2004

I can tell you from personal experience that the proper sanitation procedures are not used here and that the rooms are nice, but definitely not as nice as they should be considering the cost. It was an enjoyable job, but I would not enjoy staying there knowing how shotty the cleaning is.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2003

Beautiful, clean, hospitable, enjoyable, restful! We loved the Bay Club, views from the room include the bay, with boats entering and leaving the harbor; and a magnificent view of the golf course. The staff is gracious and very helpful. Sandestin is a great place to golf, rent and ride bikes, take the shuttle to the beach, to Market Street (a New Orleans style resturant and shopping area) and sightseeing around the resort. Other amenities include a beachside resturant, 4 golf courses, 9 putting greens, a driving range, and several swimming pools.
It just doesn't get any better!

Helpful?
15 Thank UrfuneArlington_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Enclave Condos
#53 of 56 in Destin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeward Key Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Crystal Dunes Resort
Crystal Dunes Resort
#47 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gulfview Condominiums
Gulfview Condominiums
#45 of 56 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club

Property: Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club
Address: 120 Boulevard, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Bay Club Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing