We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will not be back”
Review of Gulf Winds East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Winds East
Ranked #32 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“we will not be back”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

this is Miramar Beach not Destin. The building is bringing back memories from 3's company, where was Mr. Roper? We booked 2 bedrooms with 2 queens we got 1 queen and 1 bunk bed, 1 twin and one really thin sofa bed that you could not sleep on unless you had a back of steel. I had my 20 year old son traveling with us that had restless nights on the twin. There is only one small pool. The front office is closed on Sunday and Monday and our check in date was on Monday so how can you allow people to book a trip and pay for it but have the office closed? There was a sign with a number instructing to call for assistance however we received zero instructions on where to get the condo keys, the person on the phone said no one can come up there to let us in and and we to call Travelocity which had us hanging on her cell phones for over an hour to finally tell us to go to another condo called Capri to get the keys. we booked through travelocity so I'm getting the runaround as to who is to blame, the Condo is blaming Travelocity for not informing me of getting my keys from Capri Condo, I should have been notified however Capri/Gulf Winds East should not allow booking for days they are not open. The narrow hallway is not safe for small children, I slipped on the first day from the 2nd floor, there was something slick on the carpet, maybe carpet cleaner? anyway I busted my tail and elbow, there was a 2 inch nail sticking out from the bottom step. The sliding glass door doesn't have a lock, it's broken, they have a wooden stick on the floor to prevent the door from opening. The "cabezo" walkway from the condo to the beach doesn't have anything, the door is usually open so lot's of the public are accessing it, there isn't a shower for you to rinse off at before heading back to the condo, you have to walk back to the small pool for the one shower and water hose. there isn't a complimentary chair and umbrella service however a over priced companyand rude sales man (Sunset) walking around to charge you for some old chairs and umbrellas. NO place selling drinks or anything, you are on your own here, bring all your chairs, gearm sand toys, umbrellas, food, drinks if traveling here. We however will not be back. I will be sure to research more, pay more money for a better equipped facility offering more services. The rug was filthy. The carpet wasn't too clean. Most of the furnishings were outdated. All the toilets, sinks, counters, cabinets and appliances are new and nice. You can not hear any noise in this place! it is quite. One last thing I would like to add, Avis car rental charged me a $77 car seat fee and didn't tell me until I returned the car nor did travelocity, lot's of little fees and lot's of disappointments, do plenty of researching. The condo had nothing to do with this but if you are traveling with kids, it's a nice thing to know. Happy Traveling.

Room Tip: be sure to call and get any special instructions or bedding information confirmed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buttercup2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Location Location.......we came in September and it was great. Located right across the street from the beach and down the road from Pompano Joes! WONDERFUL LOCATION. The condo was very clean and roomy. Our check in and out was pleasant and we totally enjoyed our stay! We go to Destin every year from Oklahoma but first time to stay here. Awesome!! We are going back this summer!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debfromoklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heartland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Our 1st family trip in years and our 1st trip to Destin. This was a last minute vacation and I anticipated not being able to find reasonable accommodations. The townehouse we stayed in exceeded our expectations. It was very affordable, roomy and well equipped for comfort and convenience. It was right across the street from the beach and down the street from a Dollar General and Winn-Dixie (and other stores), which helped us save money! We loved the area and the people at the front desk were very courteous. We have already began planning next year's visit! I would recommend Gulf Winds East to anyone with a family, or anyone seeking comfort, convenience and relaxation!

Room Tip: Visit the website. Each room is a different size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KYIslandGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Good accomodations, sugar sand, and beverages. Only PROBLEM was that Poppy's restaurant decided to close 2 hours early AFTER we called and were told that they would be open till they quit serving or at least until 10:00 pm. We got there at 8:00 pm and were told that they had already shut down the kitchen. The manager, (a short, chubby guy with a mexican accent), who ASSURED us that they would be open late and led us to believe that we could have dinner and drinks there earlier in the day, met us at the door and told us that they were closed. Thank you Poppy's Manager for RUINING our LAST DAY in Destin Florida. Kinda left a BAD taste in our mouths and we'll remember that so as to NEVER go there again. Thanks again, Poppy's manager for RUINING our last day of what COULD HAVE BEEN our BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The1StumpJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

my stay at the gulf winds east was ALL RIGHT the check in was great i was able
to check in early, the location was Great. But you have to pay a 50.00 cleaning
fee and that is fine. However my condo was not clean, the stove was not clean
the cabinet under the sink had trash in the bottom of it. the refrigerator was not
completely clean and it did not cool well. the living room suite need updated
and the chair in the masters suite was soiled and spotted.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shopperChattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I liked my say at the Gulf Winds East Townhomes. The check in is not at the property but it is not too far away. It was fast and friendly. Each townhouse has one own parking spot, which was very convenient. The condos were very clean and spacious. It had everything I was looking for in a vacation home. A nice living room, dining room and kitchen on the ground floor. Upstairs it had two rooms with each it's own bathroom which was very nice. The complex is across the street from the beach, but there is no other building across, so you have a nice and easy access to the private beach with a cute gazeboo. You have to enter an access code for the beach. The beach there was very nice and clean and not too overcrowded. The place is perfect for families with or without children and chlidren. It is very safe and cozy. It is for anybody who want to have thir quiet and peace on their vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atltravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
0.0 mi away
Gulfview Condominiums
Gulfview Condominiums
#49 of 55 in Destin
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeward Key Condominiums
0.3 mi away
Enclave Condos
Enclave Condos
#48 of 55 in Destin
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mainsail Resort
Mainsail Resort
#24 of 55 in Destin
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windancer Condominiums
Windancer Condominiums
#47 of 55 in Destin
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Caribbean East
Grand Caribbean East
#52 of 55 in Destin
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Winds East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Winds East

Property: Gulf Winds East
Address: 2800 Scenic Gulf Dr, Destin, FL 32550-5214
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Winds East 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Gulf Winds East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Winds East Hotel Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing