We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs does a body good”
Review of Lillie's Q

Lillie's Q
Ranked #125 of 308 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ribs does a body good”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The ribs were absolutely delicious and the prices were good too compared to some of the restaurants that are here in Destin. I also loved the potato salad but not the cole slaw as it has a large amount of pickle relish in it so that is the primary flavor when you eat it. So you'll love it if you love relish but who cares when again the ribs were incredible falling off the bone delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped by for lunch on a whim. There was a little bit of a line at the window, but I didn't have to wait long. The only "employees" was the owner/pit master and his wife taking orders. They were very friendly and I got my order in under 2 minutes...literally. For $10 I got a pulled pork sandwich with 2 small sides. I chose the baked beans and potato salad. I was a bit disappointed that french fries weren't on the menu -- I love fries. There were several sauces to choose from, all in bottles on the tables: smoky, spicy, a couple of NC styles, and a blonde. All of the seating is outside on a covered porch on picnic tables...the way BBQ was meant to be eaten. :) I went with the "Smoky" sauce. The sandwich was big with a generous amount of meat. The meat was very tender and not at all dry. The sauce was good too...not overly smoky. The beans were really good with chunks of pork in them. The potato salad had a little too much vinegar for my taste, but wasn't bad. All in all it was very good, and I drove home stuffed. Next time I'll try the ribs with a different sauce. I'm looking forward to it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Coming to LA!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Little need to repeat the accolades mentioned below. Outstanding barbecue by award-winning chef. It's all about the pig. Yes, the numerous sauces are spectacular, and the desserts if you can get them are amazing. But pork is the feature here, especially the pork sandwich. In addition to the Chicago location Lillie's BBQ will be opening a new site in Los Angeles in 70 days for those of us who can't get close enough to enjoy this spectacular food.

Helpful?
Thank jgoff5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
954 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in Destin!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Such good pork, plain and with the sauce! The man working this little restaurant was a pleasant jokester who obviously loves his job. They are open from 11-6, but if you want the best banana pudding in the world (topped with meringue) get there at 11 or call early and have them save you some. Only 8 servings are made each day and it's a hot item. The cobbler was good too, especially the peach. And any restaurant that you walk up to that has big jars of tea brewing in the sun is a win for sure. This is a very small place, along the main road, with a little outdoor seating only, so if you don't like that, get take out. Whatever you need to do, do not miss eating here, definitely delicious on all accounts. There are other locations in the US and coming soon to LA.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dshendri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent barbecue”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The pork was delicious, moist, and smoky. The owner said anyone who serves barbecue with sauce already on it is hiding something so my first bite was without sauce and was great. He had a selection of a handful of sauces. I tried three - all good. I also tried the beef and it was excellent as well.

Some reviewers have unusual expectations. Yes there is road noise, no there are no inside tables but I don't care about things like that with barbecue, I just want good food and this was some of the best barbecue I've had

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBSK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lillie's Q also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Lillie's Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing