We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2009

The Holiday Inn referred us to Candlewood Suites since they accepted pets. What a wonderful surprise! We visited in the off season and got a terrific rate on a king size studio suite. The room was quite large, the bed was sumptious and the suite included a pull out sofa, big recliner, desk and mini kitchenette with granite countertops. Dog treats were handed over at the reception desk. Candlewood also had a business center, fitness center and free laundry. We enjoyed our stay so much that on our way home, we found one near Columbia, SC that was equally as nice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovenelsoncounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSGM, David - GM at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Thank you so much for letting us know about your great stay at the Candlewood Suites. So glad that you enjoyed yourself. Hope the rest of your travels back home went as well! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 577 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

I've stayed at a number of Candlewood Suites and other IHG properties since starting a business trip in late August. This Candlewood is the newest property in which I have stayed.

I was in town on business and therefore was not concerned about proximity to nightlife, beaches, etc., although the hotel is not that far from the beach. IMHO, it's convenient to shopping in both the Miramar Beach and Destin areas.

As with every other IHG property in which I have stayed, the staff was courteous, friendly and respectful of my time, activities and privacy. They were extremely helpful and accommodating when I needed to perform some routine maintenance on my motorcycle and supplied the tools that I happened to not bring with me on this trip.

We even managed to have some fun when Tropical Storm Ida knocked the power out for a couple of hours.

I look forward to staying at this particular property again in the future when work brings me back into the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoVARaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSGM, GM at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

Thank you so much for the compliments! I will share them with our wonderful Team here at the Candlewood. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a positive review. Our goal is to be #1! hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

If you're looking for a place to rest your head at an inexpensive price then this is the place. Convenient to outlets and the beach, it's on the main strip on 98. I was only there for the weekend for a girlfriends wedding which was at the Hilton (not only did she complain about the Hilton but I overheard so many others complain about the service). I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan on returning. The room features a kitchenette which has everything you need, sink, microwave, Refrigerator, pots, pans, you name it. Comfy bed and clean room. Because this is an extended stay hotel you will not get your bed or towels changed everyday which worked for me traveling solo for 2 nights.

If you can check out Bayou Bill Restaurant which is right on 98. The best hush puppies and broiled seafood to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzGrenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I booked this hotel online for a "last minute" weekend trip. Primarily chose it for location and price, but was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The exterior and interior were clean and well-maintained. Even though we were checking in rather late in the evening, we were able to choose which floor we would be on. Hotel was quiet and comfortable. Free wi-fi & business center were also very useful. All staff I encountered (from front desk to housekeeping) were all very friendly and helpful. We had a 'studio' style room, which was the cheapest. However, we got much more bang for our buck than I expected. Room had full size refridgerator, small stove top, small kitchen sink, microwave, coffee pot, DVD player, flat-screen TV, recliner, desk with desk chair, relatively large bathroom, and a soft queen sized bed. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divekettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Recently visited Destin for the first time. Booked this one at hotwire and were pleasantly surprised. Hotel is clean and well kept. Front desk was very helpful and they allowed us to early check-in and even a late check-out. They have a kitchen in the room but no free breakfast (we brought our stuff so we were good). Its about 9 miles from the Destin harbor (thats where you get the dolphin cruises and other boat rentals from) and the Board walk is about half a mile further up from Destin Harbor.
Initially I thought that this distance was bad, but its actually pretty good as you get to sleep better :).. Also its right in between two great shopping areas (Factory outlets right next to it are the best ones though).
There is a kind of private beach with public access just across the road (about 5-10 mins of walk) where its not too crowded allowing you to enjoy the pristine white sands and sun without any hindrance.

All in all a good and nice experience. Def recommended for everyone ...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewWanderer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We took a chance on Priceline and got a room at Candlewood Suites in Destin, FL at Miramar Beach.
Before making hotel arrangements we already knew that in order to save money we would not be staying on the beach. So, for the price ($70/night) we were extremely happy.
The hotel was obviously pretty new. It had a full kitchen (minus oven) with full size refrigerator, microwave, toaster, stove top (2 burners), small coffee maker, and basic silverware and cooking utensils. The pool is very small and we did not use it at all.
Shopping and restaurants were convenient to this location. We would stay here again.
Beaches were convenient by car. We went to the Henderson Beach state park each day because the had ample close parking and restrooms and outside showers. It was also less crowded here.
We rented bikes down by the beach near Pompano Joes restaurant .
The first night we ate at Pompano Joe's at the suggestion of one of the hotel staff. We were dissapointed. We tried an appetizer and entree both framed on the menu as guests favorites. Neither was impressive. We split both and each had a drink. The bill was over $60 and we were trying to keep cost down. Just not worth it.
We ate at the bar at Anglers two different nights. It was not fancy, but had the simple, good fried fish and shrimp we were looking for. We also enjoyed some good food at Maguires. We had their famous burgers (more than enough for two people) one night and steak and Mahi Mahi on another night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This hotel is very new and it looks it but you would never know it based on the professional service and attentiveness of the staff. It is only 1 mile from the beach and less than a mile from the Sand Destin outlets where my wife had a ball! The suites are amazingly huge compared to one of those cookie cutter hotel rooms where you barely have enough room to bend over to get into your luggage. We used the full size fridge for our beverages (beer!) and the dishwasher when friends brought over take out. The pool is a bit small but heck i am here for the beach not a pool!! There are an abundant amount of restaurants around and the local attractions are right down the road. Besides this awesome addition to Destin you have got to go to McGuires Irish pub and Gugliamo's Italian restaurant!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarBean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
5.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range: $76 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing