We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean - Not a traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Clean - Not a traditional hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is an extended stay property. This means you will not get daily housekeeping visits … only weekly. You can exchange your bath towels and linens at the front desk as needed. The 2 laundry machines are free. There is a large “cupboard” that is stocked with drinks and snacks which are reasonably priced. You just fill out a piece of paper listing your charges, and the total will be added to your room. This is also the location of the hotel’s only ice machine. The “gym” is small but adequate. The pool is clean and equipped with a couple of large gas grills for your dining pleasure. The hotel is located near the outlet mall to the East, and about 4 miles from the very nice Publix supermarket to the West. The entire building is smoke free. Pets are allowed, but you could not tell from the freshness and cleanliness of our room. If your visit revolves around the beach scene, I would recommend another property along scenic highway 98. Public parking along the beach is limited. The air conditioner is the type that is mounted below the window, and can be rather loud.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    141
    47
    18
    20
See reviews for
172
169
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay here at Candlewood! The staff were really nice and attentive! Definitely coming back next year to stay at their king suite again. The king bed was awesome and their foam pillows were to die for! Thank u!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uyenguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staff was very friendly, room was nice and clean. Didnt get to use the pool but it did look clean when we went out to look at it. Hotel is right in the middle of the malls and all restaurants-great location, only a few blocks from the beach. The only down side is you have to drive to the beach -which I knew this before making reservations so I'm not holding it aganist hotel. There is no daily maid service you have to swap out your own towels but we didnt have an issue with this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spamdogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband, son and his fiance stayed at the Candlewood Suites for 4 nights. We had 2 queen beds, a kitchen and a nice spacious bathroom with a roomy closet. It was nice, comfortable and very convenient to everything in Destin and Sandestin. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I had was the room temperature. It seemed to be either cold or hot/stuffy.
One problem we encountered was a broken shower rod and the guy was up the very next morning to put up a new one. Super friendly staff!

Room Tip: Animal friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. Your personal experiences during your stay help others to make a choice when making the difficult decision of where to stay when visiting our vacation paradise.

We love that you and your family enjoyed your room and the spaciousness of it. We are so sorry that you had an issue with the temperature in your room but do appreciate you pointing it out so we can look into what the problem might have been. We also appreciate your positive comments about our staff and their helpfulness and friendliness....we feel the same way about them! Their attention to detail and the promptness at which they address issues like the repair of your shower rod are what make them the BEST!

You mentioned how convienent we are to Destin and San Destin. We sure hope you got to visit some of our sugar, white sand beaches during your stay and our great malls, Silver Sands Premium outlet stores and Destin Commons. There are so many things to do while in our area it is hard to fit them all in while visiting.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Keith Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I visited the location in destin,fl (Miramar Beach)..That was the worst stay I've ever had and the staff was very unprofessional. The General Manager is rude and needs to adapt some people skills. The cleaning services are horrible. I will not be going back to this hotel nor would I recommend this hotel to any one. I call there guest services and was on hold for 25 mins.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzieyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us. It concerns us deeply that you we're not totally satisfied with your stay.

When you arrived at our facility we informed you that we are a totally NON-SMOKING hotel and you agreed to not smoke in our rooms or you would forfeit a fee to help us with the cost of cleaning and eliminating the smoke from your room. We believe your negative comments concerning our property are a direct result of having to pay this fee. We are sorry that you do not agree with our decision to charge you this fee but we have made a committment to all of our guests to ensure that our facility is SMOKE FREE.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts concerning your most recent stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again when in our area. Additionally, if you would like assistance locating a facility that allows indoor smoking please do not hesitate to contact us and we will assist you in locating one.

Thank you,

Keith Myers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We chose this hotel due to it's pet friendly policy. The staff was friendly and it was very clean. You could tell they take special care to make sure it stays that way. The parking was initially an issue as we have a very large truck and boat attached so we took up some space but management was understanding and did not hassle us about taking up so many spaces. I would not recommend their fitness center though, the equipment was old and did not move very well. Run on the beach instead :) We only spent one night but we would have been comfortable staying there longer if needed. Would def stay there again, in fact I am booking a room now for an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Desr Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We know how important it is that you are able to bring your pet when traveling and what an important part of our lives that they are! We love them too!! Your comment concerning our fitness center is very mportant and we will look into it right away.

So how did you like running on that soft but beautiful Sugar, white sand next to that beautiful emerald green water? Bet you got a great workout and I know the scenery was awesome.

So gald we could accomodate your boat and truck too. It was our pleasure and we hope you will return soon! Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Sincerely,

Keith MYers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Okay Stay – Be Prepared for Traffic!
Stayed here July 12th - 15th to fish and visit the local beach. Room for the most part was clean; however the pillows did have hairs on them of various lengths. Cleaning service attendant quickly replaced them. The front desk attendant was very courteous, helpful and friendly and even called once we got to the room to see if everything was okay.

During the peak season, the traffic outside is horrendous and it seems there needs to be more traffic lights. The white sandy beaches were nice and clean. Be aware this hotel is far from a lot of area attractions.

When we were traveling in the early morning, the drives were not that bad; however as the day goes on a short drive becomes a very long one. The good side is that being that everything is located off Emerald Coast Prkwy…at least things are easy to find.

Even after my statements above that doesn’t mean this area is not a nice place to stay…especially if you are just looking to hang out on the beach and dine at local restaurants. I have no problem staying here again if I had to but would prefer to stay closer to Destin and Fort Walton Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing