We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not return” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bamba Mexican and Spanish Restaurant

La Bamba Mexican and Spanish Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 405 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban, Mexican, Spanish, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: From one of our customers: "The BEST mexican restaurant in South Florida. I've lived in LA for almost 10 years now, but every time I come back home to South Florida I make a trip (or 2, or 5) to La Bamba. it's not fancy, the flavors aren't complex or master-chefish...but it's still AWESOME. It's delicious comfort food. Every meal doesn't have to confuse the hell out of your taste buds, sometimes just having good, wholesome, cheesy, mexican food hits the spot. If you're looking for South Florida's best casual mexican spot - this is it."
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We're snowbirds & had a craving for Mexican & decided to try LaBamba. First impression, place is a dump, very dingy, filthy light fixtures, needs a complete overhaul & updating.
Second impression, good salsa & food was pretty good. Service was friendly and fast. But overall, would not return to such a depressing atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yogamom617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    66
    33
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is the best Mexican restaurant in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yes, I said it, the best in the WORLD. I've been to Mexican restaurants all over the USA, Mexico, and Spain. La Bamba is simply the best Mexican restaurant in the world. The salsa is always fresh, not canned like most restaurants. The food is always fresh as well because the place is always crowded so you know you're getting fresh food. I've been going to the four La Bambas in South Florida for 20 years now. I've never been disappointed. I will never, and I mean never, eat at another Mexican restaurant other than La Bamba. This is simply the BEST Mexican restaurant out there!! They also have great spanish and cuban food as well. I always get the chicken loco burro...awesome!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmoss222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Easy to Overeat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have been to the three La Bamba restaurants in Broward and Palm Beach counties. The food is really pretty good, and the serving sizes are more than ample. I have eaten the Grand Burro at least ten times, and if it is mad eiwht chunk beef, is an excellent stomach filler. Order it with black beans and rice, which are excellent. The chicken and plantains are also excellent, again with black beans and rice. Tacos, and tamales are good, but nothing special. The endless warm chips and salsa can fill yhou up before your meal arrives, so be careful. Service is above average, but not really excellent. However, this is my go-to place for greatHispanic food, as they also have a nice selection of Cuban dishes, which are delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Araxiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not Great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked for my sisters birthday as we fancied a Mexican, and was very disapointed at the whole experience. Wasnt a great mexican experience.. Service wasnt great. Retaurant was very dated and tired looking, shabby in places and looked very grubby, I would say it was in serious need of a refit, restaurant had little or no atmosphere and really bright lighting. I know there is a recession on and everywhere is feeling the pinch, thats why its even more important, as the customers that are still eating out - you want to keep. Wouldnt have been so bad if food and serice was outstanding, or even good, but it really wasnt - Out of a table of six adults only one thought their meal was nice and worth the price paid.. Food was on the whole mediocre at best, you really can get much better for the dollar elsewhere and waitress wasnt fast, efficient or very friendly. Would I reccomend to people visiting Delray No - would I go back - No - Not unless it had a serious overhaul in all departments - so basically it was a different restaurant !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Frantic Mess - LaBamba, W. Atlantic Av, Delray Beach, FL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our third trip to La Bamba was a shocking insult to our up bringing and culture both from a service aspect and then from food quality. Our first two visits were to the bar for the special margaritas, I think, on Mondays. We still don't know if we had to buy an entree for the special price or not because the staff didn't know either. We did buy an entree and we let it sit there uneaten so we could down two medicore margaritas and overhear the babble of converstions from those seated next to us on their cell phones. Now, our thrid visit goes like this. First, the sign on the front door as we walked in, scribbled out in hand print, told us the credit card system was not working that night and only cash would be accepted for payment. We all know this is not true. Credit card systems are the financial life lines of restaurants and they just do not go out. There are back up ways such as the old tried and true system of hand printing device, remember? They easily could have used one of these if they had wanted to. Who knows why the place needed a cash night, but I have a good idea. Anyway, we paid our check in cash when we finished. We were then lead to our table in the dining room. Our first impression was is this a summer camp club house on parents visiting day or a college campus student union building on parents visiting day with food served from the cafeteria? The place was full of noisy food grubbing folks, many who were busy stuffing styro take home boxes and many who were occupied with children and babies in baby carriages and high chairs. The clanging and banging of knives and forks on tables and plates and the periodic screaming and crying of babies and small kids set the tone for our dinner environment. Then our abrupt waiter approaced and had to raise his voice for our dirink order due to the noise level, and he was in a big hurry. No green sauce he said, our favorite. We're out of it he told us. Chips and the usual salsa were placed on our table. I have to say this was the best part of our dinner and pretty decent. We ordered a salad, a Spanish rice and chicken dish, chicken way over cooked and falling into shreads and an entree of casadea's (sp) - thist took about thirty minutes to arrive after we had finished our beer served in bottles without mugs or glasses. None of the dishes were anything at all special and in fact I would say a frozen counterpart out of a grocery store's frozen food department would be comprable and money saving and you could dine in the peace and comfort of your home. The garden salad was decent with a blue cheese dressing on the side as I requested, but this dressing was below standard and watery. We had to ask one of the passing waiters where our food was who replied to us they were behind tonight. I don't know if this place is in an area of Delray that the demographics just bring in these hungry food guzzling kinds of people or not, but it was really a show to observe this dining room of people downing plates of rice and beans and tacos and stuffing both themselves and styro boxes of take home left overs like there's no tomorrow. My view of the booth facing our table was startling. The woman was sitting on her folded leg on the seat of the booth with the dirty bottom of her shoe facing us. What does this say about a women in her fifties out for dinner with a man? Disgusting. As she and her male friend paid their check in cash, the woman stuffed two large styro take out boxes with gobs and gobs of food they had not consumed and bagged it up in a large plactic baggie. I just cannot imagine the smell of that the next day out of her ice box. Wow. We had intended on enjoying the evening hoping for a few margaritas, but the price of ten bucks for one turned us off so we opted for domestic beer except for one in our group of three who ordered Tecata draft. Two flat screen tv's in the dining room gave us football games to watch and keep check on the scores and when we passed by the bar on our way in it was loaded with folks. The place apparently does a lot of business in spite of industrial grade, mass produced Mexican food. Certainly they have no worries about this review, it won't change anything. The overall feeling we had upon leaving was that if you are in the mood ot dine out in a nice Mexican place with a nice Mexican atmosphere this is not it. But if you are a big eater and want a decent price and don't mind a suffed dining room full of food grubbing, ditch digging style neighborhood eaters jabbing their forks up and down from plate to mouth as if they had not had a meal in years, and kids yelling and banging on the tables, feel free to go. It's a free country, after all. We have no intention to return. This is not our idea of an evening dining out in a civilized, mannered and cultured place.Basically, its a rude and crude experience that's too noisy to have a conversation and too slow on service to be good, and insulting to observe so many mature people stuffing themselves and all those take home styro boxes of uneaten food for left overs for another day - and the bottom of a shoe staring us in our faces from the booth facing us. Parking is mostly valet unless you find a car pulling out of the small lot at the side of the building.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bamba Mexican and Spanish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Bamba Mexican and Spanish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing