We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark Dank and Dingey not a Sunny Florida Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delray Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dark Dank and Dingey not a Sunny Florida Experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We booked a suite and were very disappointed at how dark and depressing the room was. No light. We asked for a nice view and got a view of the parking lot and some of Downtown Delray. This Hotel clearly needs some rennovating. It was like being in a Funeral Home. The Decor should be bright and airy. This was dark and gloomy. The hallways were stained with what looked like some food someone spilled and stayed that way all throughout our short stay. We wound up cancelling the extra nights we booked and decided to find something else. The grounds were also very disappointing and the website definitely makes this property look a lot better than it actually is, especially the pool area.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Dark Gloom of the Room and also the Service at the Front Desk was terrible. One person up front.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    383
    136
    58
    32
See reviews for
321
281
45
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Stayed with the kids at the Delray Beach Marriott for 3 nights on Marriott points. Overall, a good experience and I have a feeling they are working hard to improve.
The location is the best in Delray -- right across Atlantic Ave to the Beach but there are no beach lounges except for the rentals from the City. Would be nice if Marriott could reserve lounges for its guests. The beach itself is very nice and family friendly.
The hotel lobby and public areas are newly renovated, impressive and clean. There are two pools -- the one for families was freezing. The kids "swam" in the hot tub instead. Adding heat to the pool would be a good thing. Nice lounges and umbrellas dot the poolside. The pool bar is fine with the usual fare and a kids menu.
We lucked out getting a room with a beautiful ocean view and terrace. There are not that many in the hotel. The room itself was fine -- clean but very, very small. The bathroom was miniscule-- try bathing a 6 year old in that space! The bath towels were small and scratchy (the pool towels were better) and the water temp was hard to regulate. There was a nice flat screen TV and good linens on decent beds. Housekeeping did a nice job too.
The breakfast buffet was really good, with lots of fresh choices. Room service was tasty as well, but it seems to be a mistake to route room service calls through the front desk. Which brings me to . . .
The service: it was always, always pleasant and with a smile. But, there were lots of little mistakes during the stay. Such as mistaken room service orders, billing errors, etc. There was always an apology and attempt to correct, but I just had the feeling that something was amiss. The staff seems very eager to please, so I am sure the kinks can be worked out.
I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Beach location, room with ocean view, eager to please staff
  • Disliked — Small room and bathroom, spotty service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

ROOM:
Huge luxurious bathroom on a large standard Marriott Room.Good View with a great price.

LAYOUT:
The worst part about this hotel,two towers one with the parking garage (UNDERGROUND) and glass elevators has the restaruant.The other side the one I stayed in,has inclosed elevators the entrance and the poolside.

SERVICE:
Fine service but the bellman drives a hard bargin to park your car.

DINING:
Good resturant.Try over the street for the best orange juice ever and a must have breakfast!

OTHER:
Great View clean beach near nightlife.

  • Liked — The view and big bathroom.
  • Disliked — Elevator Problems
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DFCQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Beautiful old building that's been restored with new modern rooms. Rooms are large, beds are super comfy and the service was fantastic all around. Yummy, generous sized Bath & Body Works products in the bathrooms! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I last reviewed this hotel in July, 2006 (not favorably) and have stayed here a couple of times since then. But I was pleasantly surprised after my last visit in Sept. 2008 to see great improvements. Many of the small but annoying issues I have found in the past have been rectified. For example, the pool area seems to be under better management -- old dirty pool cushions have been replaced with new ones, etc; the breakfast buffet seems to be back to the old Marriott standards – which is very good…… The pull-out lighted mirror in our room was a nice and practical addition. Service was always good, but I believe it may be better now.

The result was a much more enjoyable stay.

You cannot get a better location in this part of Florida for a hotel than this.

Just a reminder: This is an upscale vacation area and during the “season” you will pay premium prices. And, you will pay additional for parking all the time.

  • Liked — Very Clean Rooms & Comfortable Beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrb1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The lobby & pool areas were very nice, but I wasn't thrilled about the room. We chose an oceanfront suite, because we love to sit out on a balcony & watch the waves. The balcony was so narrow & tiny, that the chairs have to be kept SIDEWAY! Ridiculous. Also, the room was dark & not at all "cheery". The elevators were slow, as well. Overall, not a great experience.

We found another hotel in Delray that may be older, but it is much more convient.

  • Liked — The pool area.
  • Disliked — Ocean front balconies are narrow & extremely small.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glass_slipper917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My husband went to Florida for 4-days over the long-weekend. We found a pretty good deal & picked the Marriot. The hotel actually suprised me. The hotel & rooms were above average, the service was absolutely exceptional, you could tell everyone really went out of their way to be nice.

What I enjoyed the most was the fact that they had live music by the pool 2 of 4 days we were there. It was great pool music, nothing wild, and we really enjoyed it. They pool service was also great, people came around and took our orders, as well as a bar right by the pool that was fully staffed. It was very nice.

The downer was how costly the parking was, ugh, rip off! :)

  • Liked — Pool entertainment
  • Disliked — No free coffee in the lobby in the morning; you have to pay.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank princesscheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.2 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
387 reviews
2.7 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delray Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Beach Marriott

Property: Delray Beach Marriott
Address: 10 North Ocean Boulevard, Delray Beach, FL 33483-7011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delray Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dogs are welcomed. Maximum 2 dogs per room (30 pounds max) with per pet fee of USD 75 rooms and USD 200 Villas. Contact hotel for more details and confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delray Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delray Beach Marriott Hotel Delray Beach
Marriott Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing