We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRONT DESK"RUDE"!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delray Beach Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delray Beach Marriott
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FRONT DESK"RUDE"!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Front desk did not have our room ready and the funny thing is that the manager MsTorres was very rude about it, like it was our fault.. checking time not met, bad smell on hallway,glass broken on elevator window,the hotel is pretty worn out, the only thing that hotel has is beautiful chandeliers and great bellboys...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicago201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    366
    132
    55
    30
See reviews for
302
264
43
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are locals and went to the hotel for happy hour as we have in the past, but not for a couple of years. We've always had a good time. Park in the parking lot and take the ticket to be stamped for free parking. Nice music for dancing and decent bar food. The Happy Hour menu said "Premium well drinks $4.00." When the bill came we were charged $7.00 for the drink. When we inquired, we were told we had mixed drinks. Perhaps the martini is a mixed drink, but whiskey on the rocks. When we left, the server said that the parking ticket was stamped. When we entered the ticket in the slot, we were required to pay the full parking price. Yes, we had a good time, but we were disappointed in being told one thing and then experienced something else. So if you go make sure the price to verify the correct price.is what

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Myself and a girlfriend stayed here two nights over a long weekend. Staff at front desk very friendly - lovely lobby. Rooms are on the smaller side, actually pretty small. But it's about the location for sure! Right across from the beach, and the pool area is great. So like other people say, beware at the beach they charge $32 a day for chairs and umbrella. But, my cousin lives close by so she droppped off beach chairs for us, and off we went to the beach. If you have a rental car and can pick up cheap chairs, that might be an option. I do agree though, I really think the Marriott should include this. Beach was very clean, replenishment was finished. The sandbar is right down the street a little from the hotel, great outdoor area and great happy hour! The pool area is a little tight, and get ready to save your seats early. I'm not a morning person, so there's no way i'm going down to save a seat. But at a later time, say on a Sunday, it wasn't terrible to find two seats together in an ok location. Great music and food delivery to your chair on the weekend. The pool area was very clean when we were there. Great location, if you don't rent a car don't worry - there's an awesome golf cart business that picks you up for free and takes you anywhere in Delray!!!! Just tip them well!!! What a great idea!!! And all you really need is downtown Delray - so quaint, ton's of restaurants, nice shops. Go out have drinks and not worry about driving! What a great FL town to visit for a couple days and everything is right there. SO, our first and major problem was the room they first placed us in, right next to the service elevator. Even one of the hotel employees was like "it's going to be loud here" when we were first entering our room. So we took an afternoon nap and forget it! The slamming door to the service elevator was so annoying. First of all, the hotel should not even have rooms here. We went downstairs, and they apologized and moved us, no questions asked. But what if it was a packed house? Our second room was overlooking the pool with a cute balcony - loved this location. Although, you can hear the music at the pool (didn't bother me, but just a heads up), which turns off at 6, maybe starts at 10 or 11? The housekeeping employees were not very friendly. You'd walk by and say hello, we got ignored a couple of times. Strange?? Complimentary coffee in the AM by the restaurant in the hotel, and great afernoon snacks in the main lobby - one day chocolate covered strawberries. Oh, I personally think the beds in the rooms with doubles need an upgrade. I could feel springs digging in me -not cool for a Marriott. But I'm an extremely light and fidgety sleeper, where as my friend didn't mind. I switched beds with her for the second night and her's was much better. I've personally slept in better beds at a hampton inn. The spa is adorable, small, but nice to have right in the hotel. So overall, it was perfect for a quick weekend getaway for friends and to stay close to family without staying with them the entire trip. Not luxury, but really nice and a great location!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool, but just be aware you can hear the music at the pool. Avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules92012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great hotel for weekend getaway, beach access and fun on Atlantic Ave,ie; shopping, dining, people watching!
Upon our arrival staff was wonderful! Nice pool and spa staff very sweet! Concierge all helpful, but female concierge very rude!
When we checked in our room, there was hair on bathroom counter,(not ours), and a dead bug on our wall:( I immediately called for housekeeping and had to call later that day as bug still on wall etc
Mgmt gave us $75 room credit, so we tolerated room.
Location fabulous but they need to keep rooms cleaner for cost of rooms!
Staff extremely friendly and helpful! Great happy hour live music
Spa great but beware of the secret additional service charges they add to final bill in addition to cost of spa service and tip?! Did not appreciate staff failure to inform us of this when we inquired of costs days prior to spa services
Also, Ice machine outside our room very loud at night while trying to sleep
All in All, i'd stay again as things happen, it's life and the location of this hotel is picture perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Marriott at Delray is the epitimy of class and charm. Starting with the valet service when you pull up, to the front desk, to the bellhops. The accomodations are superb, as is the food and beverage service. Pool area is great and the concierge service outstanding. Cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean are outstanding!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located just across the street from the ocean, the Marriott Delray could not be better situated. It is on North Ocean Blvd. with all the local shops and restaurants right there as you step out the door. The rooms could use an update and the elevators were the slowest I have ever encountered, but the location made up for it all. Although there were many young people at the pool and around the property, the on-site lounge/restaurant didn't seem to attract anyone under 60. Whatever shortcomings were overcome by the pool and proximity to everything would want to do in Delray. For MA residents, the 1/2 block walk to Boston's was also a plus. The facility was just too dated to earn anything over a 3-Star rating, but for the price and location, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GC1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

While the overall Hotel property is essentially a 4 Star, we were promised by the Front Desk Manager when we made our reservation that we would be put in a King Size, Ocean View Room on a High Floor. They hit 2 out of 3 putting us in Room 216 which was a King (although even the housekeeping staff admitted it was one of their smallest rooms) and an Ocean View partially obstructed by a 4 foot cement wall that butted up to a roof line so you really couldn't see the view if you sat down on the balcony. We also had the joy of removing cigarette butts from our balcony each morning that either came from the floors above us (the High Floors) or bllew in off of the roof in front of our room that was littered with garbage including multitudes of cigarette butts. We requested to be moved the first morning after check in (we arrived at 1 am the previous night) and were denied. We also provided feedback to front desk on the balcony and the garbage filled roof which remained full of garbage upon our check out (pictures attached). The hotel itself is truly very nice, all the hotel staff were very professional and friendly. The fact they did not honor nor take accountability for the expectation they set with us is my only complaint. The front desk's excuse was they can't always accomodate all their guests' preferences. This was not a preference but instead an expectation they set themselves as we did not ask for a High Floor but when I called to merely confirm a King Bed and Ocean View the Front Desk Manager also 'promised' a High Floor. It felt very much like 'Bait and Switch' to us and given the room rate we paid we defintiely paid well more than the value the room offered. I strongly suggested at checkout they clean the roof prior to checking in another guest into that room.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 216
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.2 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delray Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Beach Marriott

Property: Delray Beach Marriott
Address: 10 North Ocean Boulevard, Delray Beach, FL 33483-7011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delray Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dogs are welcomed. Maximum 2 dogs per room (30 pounds max) with per pet fee of USD 75 rooms and USD 200 Villas. Contact hotel for more details and confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Delray Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delray Beach Marriott Hotel Delray Beach
Marriott Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing