We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Comfy and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Historic, Comfy and Classy”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed at the Colony June 6-8 with my mother and sister. We had a beautiful two bedroom suite. My sister and I grew up in Delray, and took my mom on a surprise weekend to see how the town had changed in 25 years. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Even walking through the ballroom was an experience, as well as eating the free breakfast on the outdoor patio each morning. The staff was so friendly and down to earth, the entire place was so clean. We used the beach club for two days - the lunches there were superb. This historic hotel is definitely not past its prime. It is classic and classy. You can just feel the pride the owners have in it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    176
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
119
266
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We were absolutely enthralled with our stay at the Colony Hotel. We got an amazing room rate of $99/night and were upgraded to a king bed when we arrived. The rooms were very nice sized and the bathrooms were spotless. The location is ideal for a weekend getaway...we actually went during Memorial Day week and there were very few people around which was nice. You are close to the restaurants and shops, but also just a minute or two to drive to the Cabana Club which was even better than the hotel. A pristine, almost private pool, free towels/umbrellas/beach shells, a outstanding lunch selection being served from 12noon-2pm...really there was nothing to complain about at all. Breakfast was complimentary each morning and included hot items such as eggs, bacon, etc. What an amazing deal!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLCDRUMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie332
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We loved everything about our stay from beginning to end. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and spacious, with a huge closet and flat screen television. Breakfast at the hotel is complimentary and they offer a wide selection; eggs, bacon, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast and muffins. And the bar/porch in the front of the hotel is the perfect place to have a glass of wine and people watch!

The location is ideal because you are within walking distance of all of the best shops and restaurants, but you are still close to the beach. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel and also at the beach club. The beach club was the best part…it is fabulous and the pictures on the website do not do it justice. The grounds are beautiful and kept so clean. It was never too crowded and there were always plenty of chairs, towels and umbrellas at the pool and at the beach. The lunch at the club was delicious and the prices were reasonable. There is a nice, clean area with bathrooms, showers and changing rooms…which was a big plus especially since we were going directly from the beach to the airport on our last day. We also really appreciated how they are more than happy to let you use the club on your first day before you check in and on your last day after you check out. The only warning I will give is that the hotel offers free wireless internet, but the service is spotty in some of the guest rooms. You can, however, always get the signal in the lobby.

Overall, Delray Beach was the perfect place to go for a relaxing vacation and The Colony Hotel was the perfect place to stay. We had such a wonderful time and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

I love old, historic hotels and this fit the bill. The location was perfect to walk to shops/restaurants and beach. With the exception of the KIng bedroom the rooms are on the small side (we had 3), but comfortable. We have 4 kids under 12 and they enjoyed helping work the original hand elevator. The breakfast is very tasty. The beach is close enough, but the van needs to run more frequently. For example, the Boca Raton resort has the same sort of set up, but the van goes as soon as people get on it. The beach club was very nice - not crowded. The pool needs some TLC,(broken tiles) but there were plenty of towels, chairs etc. It's nice that the beach cabanas don't cost more - some places really nickel and dime you to death. The food at the beach club was tasty, but a bit expensive (no surprise). Even though some people are local members, the service seemed friendly for the hotel guests too. The shower/changing room was very nice, although I saw some areas, such as lighting, that were falling down and needed some attention. The elevator operators, maids, bar tender were all friendly. The front desk varied from very helpful and friendly (telling me the entire history of the hotel) to cold. The washers and dryers were a nice convenience. The free self-parking was a godsend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtrieshard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

This is a magnificent hotel. Went there on vacation and would go back in a hot second. The hotel staff is courteous, helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is five star in my book. Clean, spacious, excellent beds, first class service. The hotel is right in the center of Delray Beach, very close to all the better restaurants in the area so you won't have to park. Parking in town is mostly valet but by staying here you just leave your car in the lot and walk to all the best dining establishments. The buffet breakfasts are included and include a wide selection of hot and cold items including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh fruits, fresh coffee, fruit juices, well cooked oatmeal, etc...

The cabana club is the icing on the cake. It is located about a mile and a half from the hotel. If you cannot drive there they offer a shuttle back and forth. There's a rather large heated, salt water pool with plenty of lounges including shaded areas for those who don't want too much sun. This area also includes spacious immaculate facilities including bathrooms and showers as well as an on-site restaurant for lunch. And the lunches are wonderful. The private beach itself is gorgeous with cabanas and lounges. They provide you with beach towels.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

This hotel we booked off of Trip Advisor ratings as a quick weekend getaway. For the price we payed I could not BELIEVE what we actually got! The bill was $129 for the night so I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, but to my suprise I was blown away! It's an historic hotel in the heart of a quant town. When you walk through the doors your heart almost stops. It's like stepping back in time to this beautiful brightly colored retreat. The elevator is the old fashioned kind that someone operates and the room we stayed in was crazy! Two rooms joined together with a full bathroom in between! One queen bed in one room and two full beds in the other. They also leave a book in the room with all the historic hotels across the country yours to keep with your stay! Well just when you think it can't get any better it does! We actually wanted to stay on the beach but this hotel offered a cabana beach club pass to their own private salt water pool directly on the ocean. Once again doubted the quality but was pleased we could stay there the whole day even though we checked out that day.Well, it was perfect! Awesome lounge chairs, clean towels, an outdoor restaurant you could charge to your room!! Even better! they had an amazing bath area with teak wood floors complete with shampoo, conditioner and fresh towels. Check out the awesome photos of the hotel I took!! Don't waste your time looking elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I would highly recommend the Colony Hotel. From the original 1926 elevator to the antique furniture and very comfortable bed to the friendlly staff, my stay here was extremely enjoyable. The rooms are exceptionally clean. Breakfast is served every morning and on the weekend there is live entertainment on the front porch. The location is superb. Close to the beach but right in the heart of downtown Delray and all the shopping a restaurants.
If you are looking for a hotel with all the modern amenities but plenty of character, this is the place to go.

  • Liked — Character of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mplcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#3 of 15 in Delray Beach
773 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Property: Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing