We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“2nd time back”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just a quick review of a gem of a hotel in Delray Beach. Coming up from Miami it seems a world away. The location right on Atlantic puts you in the midst of dozens of shops, cafes and restaurants. Suffice it to say that this hotel possesses a charm that could only come with it being 85 years old. Even the elevator is "manned". Ya don't see that very often.
The rooms are old Florida and casual. With wooden floors, tropical open lobby with bar. Rooms have comfy beds, flat screen TVs, iPod docks, lots of closet space, bathroom is roomy and has Gilchrist & Soames English toiletries. Free breakfast is served until 10am daily. Hot and cold choices (eggs, sausage, hash, oatmeal, toast, muffins and changes slightly each day. Also, they have a decent cup of coffee & yummy juices .
They have a Cabana club about a mile or two away on a private stretch of beach. You can drive there and park for free or they have a shuttle to take you. At the club they offer private, 2 person cabanas, lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels and pitchers of filtered ice water and they are ALL complimentary.
They have a decent restaurant on premises with short lunch hours but it's good for a sandwich, salad or drink. I want to mention as well that they are totally cool with bringing an ice chest to the beach. We had imported cheeses, meats and wines and spent a full day in our cabana chilling and passing the day away. HEAVEN!
Lastly they have a saltwater pool which is heated. The changing rooms and showers are clean & private at club. They offer yoga at the hotel but never had a chance to partake (late nights and early mornings....not my friend). The front desk was helpful and even dragged our ice-chest and filled it up with ice before & after beach days! OH and the parking at the hotel is FREE.
Hope this helps, enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    176
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
119
268
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the Colony for 5 days after spending a week in the Keys. We had read the reviews on trip advisor about the hotel and Delray so we had quite high expectations and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is really charming, it has lots of original features and is really welcoming with lots of communal areas. The rooms were incredibly clean which i was quite surprised about considering the age of the hotel. The beds were massive and really comfortable and the room itself was big. The location is exceptional it is located right on Delray Beach's main street which is lined with loads of really good restaurants and bars. We ate at Vic and Angelo's twice and would fully recommend it, the food was brilliant. We also ate at the office which offers a set menu which is really good value, serves massive portions and has a great atmosphere.
We spent our days at the beach club. There are free loungers and umbrellas and plenty of towels, the staff were also really friendly. There is ice, drinking water and a communal fridge at the beach club so you can take your own lunch or tea and eat it on the beach. We really appreciated this as we have been to other hotels where you have to pay a fortune for lunch on the beach. The only downside of the hotel was that there was no fridge in the room and no air con on the ground floor however these were more the offset by the other positives. Delray Beach and the Colony hotel are brilliant, I would definitely reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoughboroughRachel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This beautiful building has become sort of the center of the new Delray Beach. Saturday night live music is great - a Spanish-style fingerpicker plays guitar most times, and people sort of sit around the patio or the lobby bar listening and mingling. Weekend yoga classes have great instructors. The included breakfast is nice basic stuff. The place has a great vintage feel to it and the staff are friendly. I love the photographs of Florida scenes on the walls.

The rooms are a bit quirky, though. The hallways have wood floors, and sound echos down them and under the large gaps in most of the doors. Most rooms are quite small, with some bathrooms practically unusable. Some rooms have no heat, and for winter guests this can be a real problem, even this far south! One February night this year I got virtually no sleep from the street noise and the cold - the temperature dropped into the thirites and the windows are old and drafty. The curtains didn't close all the way, either, and the street light came in strong.

The rooms also have window-unit air conditioners, which are noisy and finicky. There is no air-conditioning in the lobby, which is way too hot in the summer. The elevator requires staff help to operate - you're not allowed to do it yourself. Parking lot is uncovered, so your car is in the sun all day.

Those are the positives and the negatives. The price is too steep - especially in winter - for the amenities supplied, but there are sometimes specials in summer.

Room Tip: back-side, parking lot view rooms are quieter and darker at night, but watch out for strange bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKEpicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Colony Hotel is better than excellent. This hotel offers real Florida charm and terrific value. The location is ideal. Right on Atlantic Avenue in Delray Beach just a few blocks from the ocean.
The hotel was so nice i plan to return again and again.
I have stayed at the Colony twice this year and plan to return for a 3rd visit soon.
The price of the room included a great breakfast, free parking,and a private beach club..
There is live music on their front porch on the weekends. You can sip a cocktail and listen to fantastic music.
The staff was wonderful.
I cant say enough good things about this family owned hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We just spent two great nights for our annual anniversary getaway and couldn't have been happier. Everyone, especially John at the front desk, was super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior king room which was extra clean and comfy. While the whole hotel is genuinely an antique, they have kept it in excellent condition, without changing or spoiling the charm. The breakfast included was a nice touch and enjoying it (and evening cocktails) on the front verandah opening onto Atlantic Ave. was great! The beach club was amazing and very convenient, thanks to its close proximity and the abundant free self parking there and at the hotel. Very quiet, good light lunch offered, and plenty of shady spots! Little town of Delray was fun and we can't wait to go back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSnood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Honestly, this is a beautiful hotel. The Lobby is amazing, with chairs and comfy areas throughout a huge lobby, a breakfast area with a great free continental breakfast/ and a bar with an outdoor patio to hang out during the day and at night. the rooms are quaint and clean and comfortable.
BUT, having no AC in that huge lobby (where you ate breakfast and tried to hang out in to meet friends, have a drink etc.) was horrible. The humidity as soon as you got off the elevator hits you like a wall, your hair frizzes and sweat explodes throughout your body. After the first morning, having breakfast in the dining area, i spent the next few mornings, bringing my breakfast back to my room. We were a large group and all shocked at having no AC...who goes anywhere in the spring summer or fall in florida without AC??
could not go back. wish they would add AC, cause i loved the place and location is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennabeanBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, ore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We found this little gem on Trip Advisor and were quite pleased. We stayed off season, so the rates were low, and the beach club was almost empty. The hotel was clean, comfortable and charming. We stayed in a large king size room. The beach club was just lovely- private and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoraPortland_Ore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Property: Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing