We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Nearby Hotels
$263
$222
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairfield Inn & Suites Delray Beach I-95(Delray Beach)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$280
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sundy House(Delray Beach)
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
351
183
34
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
183
34
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchhardwood floorssaltwater poolold floridaoriginal elevatoroperated elevatorhistorical hotelatlantic aveyoga classeswindow unitprivate beachbright colorslive musicthe open air lobbyantique furniturepeople watcheric hansen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 595 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This beautiful building has become sort of the center of the new Delray Beach. Saturday night live music is great - a Spanish-style fingerpicker plays guitar most times, and people sort of sit around the patio or the lobby bar listening and mingling. Weekend yoga classes have great instructors. The included breakfast is nice basic stuff. The place has a great vintage feel to it and the staff are friendly. I love the photographs of Florida scenes on the walls.

The rooms are a bit quirky, though. The hallways have wood floors, and sound echos down them and under the large gaps in most of the doors. Most rooms are quite small, with some bathrooms practically unusable. Some rooms have no heat, and for winter guests this can be a real problem, even this far south! One February night this year I got virtually no sleep from the street noise and the cold - the temperature dropped into the thirites and the windows are old and drafty. The curtains didn't close all the way, either, and the street light came in strong.

The rooms also have window-unit air conditioners, which are noisy and finicky. There is no air-conditioning in the lobby, which is way too hot in the summer. The elevator requires staff help to operate - you're not allowed to do it yourself. Parking lot is uncovered, so your car is in the sun all day.

Those are the positives and the negatives. The price is too steep - especially in winter - for the amenities supplied, but there are sometimes specials in summer.

Room Tip: back-side, parking lot view rooms are quieter and darker at night, but watch out for strange bathroom configurations
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKEpicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Colony Hotel is better than excellent. This hotel offers real Florida charm and terrific value. The location is ideal. Right on Atlantic Avenue in Delray Beach just a few blocks from the ocean.
The hotel was so nice i plan to return again and again.
I have stayed at the Colony twice this year and plan to return for a 3rd visit soon.
The price of the room included a great breakfast, free parking,and a private beach club..
There is live music on their front porch on the weekends. You can sip a cocktail and listen to fantastic music.
The staff was wonderful.
I cant say enough good things about this family owned hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreyfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We just spent two great nights for our annual anniversary getaway and couldn't have been happier. Everyone, especially John at the front desk, was super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior king room which was extra clean and comfy. While the whole hotel is genuinely an antique, they have kept it in excellent condition, without changing or spoiling the charm. The breakfast included was a nice touch and enjoying it (and evening cocktails) on the front verandah opening onto Atlantic Ave. was great! The beach club was amazing and very convenient, thanks to its close proximity and the abundant free self parking there and at the hotel. Very quiet, good light lunch offered, and plenty of shady spots! Little town of Delray was fun and we can't wait to go back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSnood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Honestly, this is a beautiful hotel. The Lobby is amazing, with chairs and comfy areas throughout a huge lobby, a breakfast area with a great free continental breakfast/ and a bar with an outdoor patio to hang out during the day and at night. the rooms are quaint and clean and comfortable.
BUT, having no AC in that huge lobby (where you ate breakfast and tried to hang out in to meet friends, have a drink etc.) was horrible. The humidity as soon as you got off the elevator hits you like a wall, your hair frizzes and sweat explodes throughout your body. After the first morning, having breakfast in the dining area, i spent the next few mornings, bringing my breakfast back to my room. We were a large group and all shocked at having no AC...who goes anywhere in the spring summer or fall in florida without AC??
could not go back. wish they would add AC, cause i loved the place and location is awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennabeanBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We found this little gem on Trip Advisor and were quite pleased. We stayed off season, so the rates were low, and the beach club was almost empty. The hotel was clean, comfortable and charming. We stayed in a large king size room. The beach club was just lovely- private and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoraPortland_Ore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews