We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 24, 2007

This hotel is apparently not for everyone, as evidenced by the reviews. However, I have revisited 3 times and enjoyed it a great deal. Excellent breakfast; very comfortable beds and excellent staff. Some rooms are more noisy, but staff can advise which are less likely to be noisy. I had no problems with sleep, hot water, or service. The person who complained about the lack of a pool missed the cabana club that is available with a beautiful beach and salt water pool. I like to avoid the chain hotels, and this is an enjoyable alternative.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 590 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2007

wow, this place is a must, quaint and quirky, smallish rooms but very comfortable and clean, wooden floors, great beds. A fabulous foyer and front porch ot hang out on with a bar, adequate breakfast and a wonderful beach club about 2 miles away (shuttle bus). Right in the heart of Atlantic Ave. Dogs allowed. Forget the Marriott stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank uklauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

My girlfriend and I returned to the Colony in October, 2007 and loved
it as much as the first time. It is a well kept older hotel very high
on the charm factors. The colorful paint job in the halls and rooms make it look wonderful. We love the older elevator, which one of the workers let my girlfriend run, and really just enjoy the feel of the place. All of the staff were wonderful. We liked the beach club and their salt water pool, but we suspected some of the other members would have preferred that we were not there...but that was their problem! If you want modern day luxury, look elsewhere, but if you like charm and enjoy nostalgia, this one is for you!

Jp
pjaizzz@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1Jp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

This hotel was one of the more unique ones I've stayed at. The colors were bright and cheerful. The bedrooms were a good size with hardwood floors. The elevator is old and hand operated. Free internet access. Good location in Delray Beach. Hotel is within walking distance of cute shops and very good restaurants. The cabana club on the beach is almost worth the rate itself. We had a simple lunch there that was yummy. They don't sell liquor at the beach club but you can bring your own and you have acess to ice and water. It's like having your own private beach with lounges and a swimming pool. They have a shuttle back and forth between the club and hotel, but it is easier just to drive there. There is plenty of parking at both places. The main drawback, otherwise this place would be perfect, is window air units in the rooms! It was very hard to keep the room cool. The bathroom was very hot. Also they try to conserve and don't provide individual soap/shampoo; it is in a dispenser which I didn't care for. I liked the quaintness and Cabana Club of the Colony so much, I will probably go back, but only at a cooler time of year.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alyson003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My Mom, sometimes my Sister and I visit the Colony at least one time per year for several days for a girls' shopping and beach getaway...we love it! The art deco decor reminds of staying at my Grandma's house as a young girl...sure everything is older..it is a historic hotel...so much more interesting than the bland business hotel rooms down the street. The lobby screams South Florida...I mean if you are visiting Florida..do you want that or the bland lobby at the Marriott which looks no different than the lobby of a Marriott in any other city in the US. Despite its age, I found everything to be impeccably clean. We always book the double queen rooms (two rooms each a queen bed ...bathroom in between the rooms)...they are huge for the three of us.

There is some noise but we love the exciting downtown location (we live in the country at home so it is fun to spend a few nights by the "action" sometimes).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kerri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Spent 2 nights at the Colony Hotel in February - front desk staff was pleasant and offered to operate the elevator to get me to my room. After that I walked up and down the stairs which was ok w/ me but not for everyone. Hallways were brightly colored, clean w/ polished wood floors. Room was small, but adequate with traditional furniture (mis matched, but in good condition - could have been the original!) Bathroom was marble and white tile, no chips or cracks and spotless. Wireless internet access worked in my room (apparently not it all rooms as the walls are thick) Room was quiet, except when people walked down the hall - It was a bit like an old fashioned dorm building ! A/C was a window unit which worked, and tropical curtains.

Breakfast was excellent and I enjoyed taking my coffee and paper (newstand down the street) out to the front porch - the porch in fact was a highlight - great for an evening drink (small bar in the lobby) and the lobby was very comfortable as well. It's right on the Main Street (Atlantic) in Delary so was fun in the evening.

The beach access is a beach club, great location about 10 blocks away. Had my own car so i didn't use their shuttle, although i did see it arrive on time in the am. The pool is nice and they have renovated some of the bath houses - looks like they were working on the others as they were in ancient shape!

All in all it was a good stay for me - i was a single traveling w/o my family and felt very comfortable there - didn't need the staff for much (they did seem a bit preoccupied w/ their conversations, but totally attentive whenever i had a question) The rooms were clean and funky in a 1920's kind of way - you could tell it was the original style but had been maintained (or newly painted anyway).

One small complaint - the stairwell door (fire access - or so it said on the emergency info) was Locked - on the 2nd floor - I went down the stairs from the 3rd floor and realized i was trapped as you couldn't go any farther - good thing it wasn't an emergency as i had to go back up to the 3rd floor and then down the hall to the main staircase (elevator is only operated by front desk staff.) Something about damage from the last hurricane (which must have been many months (years?) ago by the time i was there. Not a smart move from a fire safety point of view.

Did it work for me? Absolutely. Would I stay there again? Maybe - Price was excellent for Feb ($120/night) but the room was only big enough for me - no good if traveling w/ family! It would appeal to any travelers who prefer atmosphere over corporate architecture and don't need hand holding up and down the elevator. And the food really was very good.

The next time I went to Delray w/ my family we stayed at the Hilton Suites Boca Raton. Which is another story indeed.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank ruthanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I have stayed at the Colony twice in the last 2 years and I hope to have the chance to go back and find the same warm, bright hotel. I feel like I am in another country when I stay there. The service is great, the rooms are clean and the bed is really comfortable. If you are tired of the chain hotels and your are in this area, give it a try.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank libeccio09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#3 of 15 in Delray Beach
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Delray Beach
734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Delray Beach I-95
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Address: 525 E Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range: $144 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing