We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Carrabba's ever”

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #88 of 407 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Worst Carrabba's ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have eaten at Carrabba's in Orlando, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale and many other places while traveling.

THis is the first and last time we will ever dine at Carrabba's Delray Beach.

We order the calamari and it was so over breaded, we didnt even know it was calamari, it could have been onion rings. Also since it was over breaded and the breading has alot of salt it was very very salty.

We took a bite and sent it back and Carrabba's STILL CHARGED US FOR IT, ONLY AFTER COMPLAINING DID THEY TAKE IT OFF.

Then we ordered a penne pasta WITH SAUSAGE and linguine WITH SAUSAGE.

Both orders got to our table WITHOUT SAUSAGES and we were told they were OUT OF SAUSAGES and they were cooking new ones.

SO WE HAD TWO PASTA DISHES WITH NO SAUSAGES and the SAUSAGES came out 20 minutes after the dinner did.

If this was a stand alone restaurant and not a chain they would be out of business.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sharp, jumping and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

On our first evening in Delray Beach, we happened upon Carrabba's and were too tired to look elsewhere....and that was our good luck. It was Saturday night so we waited at the bar for about 30 minutes and socialized with patrons eating at the bar. We got to look over several beautifully prepared entrees. I had the Mediterranean pasta with grilled shrimp and it was beautifully prepared -- al dente pasta, black olives, plenty of garlic and plump moist shrimp. My husband had the pork chops with garlic mashed potatoes....also excellent. Our waitress spoke 4 languages and was extremely friendly and attentive. I know this is a chain, bit its a great chain....I'd definitely go back to this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madalyn810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carrabba's Delray Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The food is good and presented nicely but every time my husband and I have eaten there the food has been too salty.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
262 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Still Waiting for Some Innovative Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Calling for a reservation, we were told there would be no wait if we came between 5 and 5;30 PM. Upon arriving at 5:30, we were told there would be a 10 to 20 minute wait. 45 minutes later we were finally seated. We first ordered a bottle of wine that was $31 and at best ordinary and not one that should have been on a wine list.

The lobster ravoli, which had been highly promoted on TV was at best no better than what one would buy at the suoermarket. This is a place we would never eat at again. Expect to be disappointed unless you do not care what youj are served

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We missed you, Carrabbas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

As our Staten Island Carrabbas closed in December, imagine our delight to be able to visit the Delray Beach location. Everything was exactly as all Carrabba's...the bread (yum), drinks, grilled food, etc. We were very comfortable - very friendly staff and good service. We look forward to returning there, on our next trip to Fla.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing