We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch done nicely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Oyster

City Oyster
213 E Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3726
561-272-0220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
City Oyster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 382 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St
Transit: Free shuttle buses
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
252 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lunch done nicely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

After being seated we waited almost 15 minutes before server acknowledged us. After that, all went well. We had the Chicken Paillard and it was quite nice. The arugula salad was fresh and tasty The chicken was seasoned nicely but slightly over cooed. However, I would probably order it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAL0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    184
    53
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner experience for Flavor Palm Beach Month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spur of the moment reservation for last night for 4. It was Flavor Palm Beach month with a Price fixed menu in addition to the huge regular menu. For $30 a person we had a delicious New England Clam Chowder, Seafood Gumbo and Creme Brûlée for dessert. Not only were the portions generous but the service, presentation and quality of food was excellent. I am looking forward to going again. You have the choice of indoor or outdoor dining. Love the ambiance and the place has a great vibe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love sitting at the bar and having a scrumptious appetizer! The food is wonderful and it's a great place to have a drink and unwind after work. Classy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
“FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great oysters and drinks! Date night with a busy bar crowd Sat night.
Fun and friendly Bartenders! Look foward to a return trip. Great place to
grab a cocktail and app before strolling the Ave. in Delray. One of the steady
always great Delray estashments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bellad08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I travel to Delray a lot as it's become my favorite South Florida destination, and have always wanted to try City Oyster but I typically opt for more casual places because I'm usually by myself and sometimes feel uncomfortable in a hipper place like this solo.

Anywho, on my last trip down here I finally sucked it up (literally when we get to the oysters) and went in and sat at the bar and had a great meal, good drinks, good conversation, and wonderful time overall. I guess I had always looked at City Oyster as one of the more upscale places on Atlantic and thus avoided it being alone, and it is, but I was very comfortable and glad to pay for the great seafood. Within minutes of walking in the bartender was already making me feel welcome being by myself and I ended up having a nice talk with multiple couples around me who opted to get dinner at the bar.

The food was really delicious, see my attached pictures. I had raw oysters (obviously wonderful) for a starter and then scallops in a macadamia nut brown butter sauce, and I thought the lady sitting next to me was going to ask for a bite, it tasted 10x better than it looks in the picture attached and that says a lot.

I'm kicking myself for not coming here before, and certainly it will be another go-to when I'm eating and drinking my way down Atlantic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KevDough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Oyster also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to City Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing