We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great raw bar menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Oyster

City Oyster
Reserve with OpenTable
City Oyster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 406 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St
Transit: Free shuttle buses
ct
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great raw bar menu”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We never got passed the appetizers. We had oysters, crab meat and stone crabs. All were excellent. My key lime pie was not that great but everything else was. Service was good. Prices are high but all restaurants on this strip in delray are expensive. Fun time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glbtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    228
    69
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better!! Perfect dining experience.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

With plenty of dining experiences in the area, I find this place to be top notch in all respects. Our server Eric was a true professional and he is sincere in making your dining experience the best! The food is impeccable and together with the open atmosphere and service, our experience there is one that we will repeat every time I visit Delray Beach. GREAT JOB!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PianoMan4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Sell Stock and Invest in Oysters”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Yes, sell your AAPL stock and invest some oysters! You can't go wrong and oysters taste better, anyway. Four of us walked up and down Atlantic Avenue one day looking for the best place for lunch. Tripadvisor pointed us to the Budda Sky Bar, since we have an inclination for Asian, but it wasn't open for lunch. After a half hour of walking - which is fun enough on Atlantic Avenue - we settled on the City Oyster because it looked classy, we could have a table on the sidewalk out front, just like in Paris, and they served sushi. We were not to be disappointed. The food here is excellent. But like I said, sell some stock. Our lunch ran almost $150 for four. No dessert. To start, two of us shared a half dozen raw oysters, three different kinds, all absolutely terrific. Expensive, but as fresh and flavorful as one can ask for. Another started with the Soup of the Day, carrot & squash, which was wonderful. We all had a brew or two, selected from the writing on the wall inside which listed their alcohol levels. I did a 8.5% locally-brewed Holy Mackerel... which was. Check their web site. More, please. The main courses included a salmon BLT, a salad with the most tender skirt steak around and a sushi roll, all terrific. Service was a little cool, but prompt and professional. When the stock market is up, I'll be back there for a big plate of oysters and a couple of pints of Mackerel. Count on it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great filet”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stopped at City Oyster while visiting family in Delray. Everyone else in the group had seafood,which they loved,but I tried the filet mignon. I admit I am a beef snob especially when it comes to filet. This was one of the best I ever had. It was done perfectly (rare) and was brushed with garlic butter. Cut with a fork tender and delicious. Sides were great I just don't remember what they were because the beef was so good. Atmosphere was great and staff was friendly but professional. Will definitely go again the next time we're in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seafood on Atlantic Ave.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Hong Kong style Sea Bass is to die for....friendly, attentive service and execellent food - City Oyster is a great choice if you are looking for a nice meal on Atlantic Ave.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ronscpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Oyster also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to City Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing