We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy spoon in downtown Delray” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Owl Restaurant - CLOSED

Green Owl Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Greasy spoon in downtown Delray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Sure your pancakes might have a hint a bacon flavor. This place is the quintessential 'greasy spoon' and is the most consistently good diner food around. Same waitresses there for the last 7 years - definitely a locals kind of place. Looking for fancy? You're high maintenance and plan to ask for a fru-fru omlette? Try some place else.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    26
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Saved by their food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I am a local Delray Beach resident. I LOVE their food and it is the only reason that keeps me going back to this place. I prefer doing the take out to avoid their unpleasent service. Their staff is just plain RUDE! No smiles, an nasty attitude.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Delray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you're looking for an easy breakfast place in Delray (eggs, toast, pancakes, coffee, home fries) go here. Don't look further. This place has been in business for 30+ years and it does a great job at breakfast, with very reasonable prices. Sometimes there is a wait, but it moves fast.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a locals place - cash only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

this place is a locals place - breakfast and lunch, all the ol' timers and some new timers go to the owl. your typical greasy spoon and the prices are good.

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The side of steaming waitress hostility ruined the experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The food is good, but if you decide to linger after your meal, be forewarned you will unleash the wrath of the waitstaff, in particular the fit mature blonde. As a waitress myself, I understand the need to turn tables to make a living, and as someone in the industry, I would have tipped her accordingly for the time we spent there. So rude gal, I hope your sarcasm was satisfying has while we left you with a 26% tip, it would have been 50% had you kept your final snide remark to yourself. A lesser person may have stiffed you for going above and beyond in the rudeness department.

This place is typically busy. However, on a Monday morning, there were no customers waiting for us to leave, so they could eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank officekoolade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Owl Restaurant also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing