We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, recommended.”
Review of 32 East

32 East
Ranked #16 of 411 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Swinton and 1st
Description: Thirty Two East opened in 1996 on the site of an old auction house in Delray Beach’s Historic Neighborhood. It was met with instant critical success and has continued to be identified with a distinctive yet approachable menu. 32 East generates a vibrant atmosphere for savoring delicious food, attracting savvy guests and exceptional critical reviews. Chef John Thomas continues in 32 East’s lineage of contemporary American style while innovating with a novel approach all his own. His menu changes daily to accommodate only the freshest seasonal ingredients from around the country. A full service bar and award-winning wine list complement the dining experience.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, recommended.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had dinner for four, server was on her game. All questions answered, wine list was great and varied top to bottom, quality of food was excellent, a treat. It seems like a high volume environment but we were not rushed at all. no negatives on our expereience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    74
    36
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“32 East on Atlantic Ave. was rocking last night...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had another fabulous dining experience at one of my favorite eateries on Atlantic Avenue last night. 32 East is always my first choice for my friends who are well traveled foodies from NYC. It is the height of season on a Saturday night and the avenue was bustling. The restaurant itself was packed, but we felt like we were the only patrons with our service from Michael.

There is only one problem...EVERYTHING on the menu sounded delicious. Making the decision was so difficult. You know that everything is fresh.

I am never disappointed with 32 East. Quality food, service and ambiance. With all the dozens of restaurants on Atlantic Ave. these days, this is always my first choice. I show off to visitors what great restaurant dining is like in Delray Beach.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighEndScavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inventive, flavorful cuisine”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We choose 32 East based on the Fodor's review, and it did not disappoint. The food was remarkable - fresh, inventive, and very flavorful. We had the scallops, a fish dish, and pasta (I wanted something smaller, so had the appetizer portion of penne with truffled cream sauce) - all were excellent.

Service was youthful, but generally good. They were extremely busy (it was a Friday night, at 9pm), and we were ignored by our waiter at first. So another server came over, apologized and took our drink order. After that, everything went very smoothly.

The only downside is the noise level. Like most of the restaurants on Atlantic Ave in Delray, the noise is off the charts from the combination of piped in music (same volume as in the adjacent bar area) and hard surfaces everywhere in the restaurant. People were quite literally screaming to be heard. We were in a booth, so we didn't have to go that far, but it was definitely not comfortable and certainly not conducive to any sort of conversation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Don't get to this town very often but when we do we try to have dinner here. Not a bit disappointing and every bit as good as our last encounter two years ago. If anything it was a quiter night and we had no trouble hearing ourselves. The decor is pleasant, the service friendly and efficient and the food was outstanding. The chickpea soup was quite nice, the halibut was fresh and perfectly cooked and the coffee was exceptional, strong and not bitter. We brought our own wine and the corkage was fairly priced.
This is an excellent restaurant and not to be missed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and interesting choices”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A favorite for years. Food and service are top shelf. Always busy so make a reservations. Located on Atlantic ave so the is always a buzz

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 32 East also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to 32 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing