We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A not to be missed restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 405 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd Street
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A not to be missed restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Small restaurant, you need reservations. The owner greets you. The environment is relaxed and the noise level is low; nice to be able to hear your dinner partner. This is right off the main drag in downtown Delray which is a real mess at the height of the season. You can actually find parking around this restaurant without using Atlantic Ave. A MUST try restaurant. The food is wonderfully prepared.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhondaherbstman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    14
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Love the exclusive feel and how intimate In the Grove is! We had a reservation, but the table wasn't ready yet so hung out at an area near the front, the manager Paul came over and offered some unique wines for us to try while we were waiting. He was very personable and friendly, made us feel right at home! Once seated, we ordered the octopus and duck fusilli for starters. Both were equally amazing, only complaint is we wish they were double the size! After recently traveling to the Mediterranean, we were reluctant to try the octopus afraid it wouldn't compare. It was the best that either of us had ever had anywhere in the world!! I had the pork tenderloin for dinner, while my husband enjoyed the short ribs. The entrees were the perfect size, and both amazing. We shared a chocolate cake for dessert, a great ending to the meal. The service was great, everyone was very knowledgeable and helpful, and able to recognize when we needed something, and when we just wanted to relax. As word spreads about how great this place is, they may need to look into additional seating.. although I hope they keep the intimate atmosphere. Will ABSOLUTELY be returning, thanks for a great meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Farewell Dinner with Wife and Son”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just stopped in at "The Grove" in Delray Beach, Fl. While there was no availability inside, outside we lucked out. Paul, the manager of the day, was really welcoming and, while I don't remember her name, our server was incredibly helpful when my wife asked for a paring with her dinner. Her description of the platings and content of each of the entrees was superb and we ended up ordering wonderful meals. This is a great place. The wine list is extensive and the regular things one normally sees in wine lists of restaurant are vacant. This is a really high quality list of superb wines and the staff are effective at paring. While the prices are littler higher than other places in Delray Beach, the quality of the ingredients, ther service, the wine list and quality of preparation surely justifies the bottom line at the end of the meal Even the expresso is fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartjoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"How is this not ranked #1 in Delray...nothing beats it!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Grove should be called "The Gem" as that is exactly what it is...it gets it ALL right. To start, the food is delectable - original, fresh, seasonal and just overall extremely tasty. I have eaten here at least 20 times and have yet to even have a bad bite let alone dish. I love how they keep a small seasonal menu allowing them to nightly do a few things VERY well rather than other places that try to do everything and end up just being average. The wine list is also rotating and they seem to pick the perfect wines to pair with their dishes. The silverware and stemware are also top notch and just give the adorable well appointed restaurant a feeling of elegance. My husband and I always come to the Grove for special occasions and sit in the corner table farthest from the front door. We have also been with friends...the atmosphere is great for small groups or for a romantic date. I live in NYC part time and I still feel the Grove is my favorite restaurant even over ALL the choices we have in Manhattan. Prices are very fair and portions a perfect size. My only fear in writing this review is EVERYONE is going to discover this gem and I am going to miss out on our corner table :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Delray Gem....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place is terrific.

Background on the review, I have frequented many fine restaurants on the east and west coasts. I spend a lot of time in New York and have been lucky to eat at many of the world's best restaurants.

The Grove has a rotating menu of delicious and inventive dishes. Nearly all entrees are creative and tasty. The wine pairings are easy due to a strong wine list as well.

The ambiance is very comfortable with excellent inside design, great lighting and terrific service. This is a great local spot where you just want to keep coming back... Particularly if you are on a date. This is the perfect date spot.

Highly recommend to anyone seeking great food, creative pairings and top shelf service with a Delray "hometown" touch with the owners in the kitchen and at the front. A smaller more intimate version of 32 East down the street.

The only issue might be a relatively "small menu" - so just be aware if you are looking for a large selection of items.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gen_X_Fla_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing