We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cranes Beachouse, It's not at all the lovely place it used to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've been coming to Cranes a couple times a year since right after they opened. In the beginning and for many years it was simply SUPERB in every detail, the service was Fantastic. Over the last 3 years and then the stay we just finished have seen the maintenance slipping, the furniture at the pool used to resort perfection, now the cushions are wet and dirty, clearly they leave them out in the rain, in past summers they would always store them away if it rained or at the end of each day so they were fresh and dry, the patio is covered in sand, the pool was dirty, (sand on bottom) they used to have lots of fresh scrumptious beach towels on a shelf at the pool, no more, it used to be a gated closed resort, no more, they open the Tiki bar to the public on occasion and it's noisy. You used to be able to sit by the pool with your glass of wine or cocktail (plastic of course at the pool) now they have a no alcohol or coolers policy. The pet policy used to be so friendly, even let the dogs swim in the pool. The grounds were meticulous and a true tropical paradise, now the plantings suffer from neglect, there are weeds everywhere, the lovely wood furniture has been mostly replaced with cheap Aluminum stuff from Lowe's or Home Depot. Our room this visit had a shower head that didn't function well, dead electrical outlets, many switches and dimmers not functioning, horrible wireless internet, we now bring our own hotspot. All the while the prices have remained high, Cranes used to be a smooth running resort with a very talented staff, excellent grounds keepers. We've never minded paying for an outstanding experience, after this last visit now I will re think before I return to Cranes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bodeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranesBHHotel, General Manager at Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent feedback about our tropical resort in Delray Beach, FL. It is our hotel policy to send a Thank You email to all of our guests after check out with a request for feedback in order to help us make improvements. First let me say that what you have posted is not typical and honestly we have no other past guests unhappy with our outdoor areas or inside as you have noted. As a matter of fact, Crane’s BeachHouse is a proud repeat recipient of the Florida Superior Small Lodging Association’s prestigious Donal A. Dermody White Glove Award for housekeeping excellence and exceptional service. In addition, our hotel was recently named to the Expedia Insiders’ Select™ list, which formally recognizes individual hotels worldwide that consistently deliver excellent service, a great overall experience and a notable value. The full list represents only a small percentage of the world’s top hotels from the more than 110,000 hotel properties offered on Expedia. But we all know that ongoing maintenance is most important in order to achieve such awards. Our hotel runs a very high occupancy throughout the year and June through September we close off many areas and rooms to do our annual touch ups. So far this year we have painted all of the sidewalks and outdoor areas and replaced the pool chair pads. Our landscaping team provides weekly service and we have just replaced plantings and flowers throughout the whole property. Early in the morning many guests take their stroll simply to smell the fresh jasmine in the air. We take pride in the variety of foliage we have been known to showcase annually. So far, our guests have been very happy with the ongoing improvements. During the room maintenance we paint, strip and seal walls and floors. The furniture is moved, cleaned and replaced if damaged. We replace all kitchen utensils and items at this time as well. As you can see from previous guest reviews we have been noted quite often as one of the cleanest hotels by many. As soon as I read your remarks that a room was not in perfect working order I was concerned. We have a three point check system at our resort that begins upon checkout. When a new guest is expected our policy is to "Arrive" the suite. Our team has a checklist and goes into the room prior to your arrival to turn on the lights, fans and music channel as well as check the room to allow for a pleasant experience upon your arrival. Again prior to arrival the front desk team also inspects the room and checks that it was "Arrived" for you. At check in the agent walks you to your guest room and enters with you to assure you are welcomed. Our team takes pride in providing the highest standards of guest service in the industry. The three point system is in place to compliment our bright and unique decor as well as making you feel right at home at Crane's. After further investigating your posting I found our checklist from housekeeping for your suite. All of the electrical outlets are in good working order. We found no issues with dimmers at all. Our complimentary WiFi is available for guest enjoyment in all the rooms and the outdoor living areas as well. If you had an issue during your stay and notified us at the front desk we could have checked it for you to be sure it was not your computer or device settings. Again, we have had no other guest concerns lately but if we do we are committed to making it work.
The teak furniture at the pool area was replaced due to the weather conditions in south Florida. We felt that making a change to better quality coated aluminum pool chairs only improved the guest pool experience. (They were purchased from a large hotel distributor since we ordered a large quantity.)
Now, please allow me to address the other issues you have noted in your review. For the safety and comfort of all of our guests we do not allow dogs to swim in the pool and we never did allow them to swim in the pool in the past. We provide every dog owner with instructions for pet safety and they must agree and sign a waiver at check in. We have many dog water fountains as well as disposable bags throughout the property and dog bowls in every suite. Every guest staying with their pet is offered a special Welcome Gift upon arrival filled with goodies. We enjoy having our four legged friends enjoy their time as well.
All of our guests are provided four to six extra large luxurious pool towels in their guest room for use throughout their stay. (Yes, we change them daily during housekeeping service.) Our hotel has two gated entrances that are secure at all times. We also have an onsite security guard for guest safety and after hour concerns. While we encourage all guests to enjoy their stay, we asked that large parties agree to communicate with our management team if they are celebrating a special occasion. It is not uncommon for a hotel to restrict guests from drinking and partying (especially with glass bottles) at the pool areas. We follow the same guidelines as other hotels and ask that guests keep coolers inside the guest suite and not out in the public areas unless they are part of a private event at the hotel. It is a safety concern and not meant to upset a guest. Our team will provide plastic cups when they see a guest in the pool with a glass. Our famous Key West style Tiki Bar is open to the general public and has been since it opened in 2008. We provide a chill atmosphere with live island tunes that end at 9p every Thursday, Friday & Saturday only.
Our hotel is in its eleventh year of operation and considered one of the best Boutique Hotels in Palm Beach County. We are far from a large full service brand but don’t let that fool you. Our team takes pride in providing the highest standards of guest service in the industry. We would like to offer a special invitation to come back soon to experience our tropical resort and allow us to show you our improvements first hand. I can assure you that the entire outdoor area and all luxury rooms are clean and sparkling new as I personally inspect them as well every week. We look forward to seeing you again really soon in sunny Delray Beach. Warmest Regards, Cathy Balestriere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just a block from the beach, Crane's BeachHouse is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Atlantic Avenue and A1A. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and I really appreciated how quiet it was once we shut the doors -- despite kids downstairs in the pool area, we couldn't hear a thing! The gardens are beautiful and there is a continental breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice served every morning. It's quite a walk with luggage from the parking lot to the rooms (stairs only if you're on the second floor like we were), but the staff was right there to help.

On the downside, the Tiki bar was only open for a couple of hours during our two-day stay. Apparently, it's only open on the weekends during happy hour. Not that there aren't plenty of bars right down the street, but it would have been nice to have something available a little closer, especially since it's advertised as part of the hotel's name.

The other downside was parking. Since it was Labor Day weekend, we were told it was possible, despite having a parking pass, that the lot would be full and that we were to use a doctor's office around the corner if needed. If that was full, we were to use public parking, which we would have to pay for -- that did not happen, but it would not have been acceptable. The parking lot is clearly marked for Crane's only and that violators would be towed. I saw several cars parked on Labor Day without passes and reported this to one of the staff who said it would be taken care of immediately. These cars remained in the lot for several hours until late afternoon, so I really doubt the lot was checked.

All in all, a lovely hotel and great location. We would definitely return when we're back in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranesBHHotel, General Manager at Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent feedback and comments about our tropical resort in Delray Beach, FL. We believe strongly in providing excellent communication to our guests especially since we are a small luxury boutique hotel of only 27 guest suites. Our famous Key West style Tiki Bar is open Thursday, Friday & Saturday since that is our highest occupancy. We opened the Tiki Bar in 2008 and work hard at maintaining a fun atmosphere but have not seen a demand for opening more than the busy weekends. Occasionally, we will open on a Sunday afternoon or during peak times upon guest request. We have even been known to pull out the grill and offer complimentary burgers and hot dogs with all the fixings.

We recognize the parking lot can be a challenge for us. We are working on a better solution to be sure the car is not a guest or a visitor of a guest before we tow. We hope to have the system in place prior to the start of our busy season. Thank you for the feedback!

Please let us know the next time you are staying so that we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Warmest Regards, Cathy Balestriere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Crane's BeachHouse was a fun surprise! Tucked away on a quiet side street, it's an oasis in the town. A 10 minute walk to the beach and restaurants made it the perfect location for us. The one bedroom suite was immaculately clean and so spacious for 2 adults and our dog. The fun beach decor was just right for this one of a kind retreat. The relaxing and beautifully landscaped atmosphere and desire to please made us feel at home. The continental breakfast was a good start to the day with fresh juice, tea, coffee and muffins, fruit and cereal. The after hours service for allowing entrance through the locked gate was a little tough but eventually worked when we received the code to enter. Considering all, we would stay again any time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 15happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Note that we were here in the summer time.

Cranes Beach House received such great reviews that I expected a real oasis near the beach that was top notch. Well, what is an oasis for one is not for another and that said, this is a great hotel if it is what you are looking for.

Description of site - Three buildings that are basically motels set in the shape of an inverted letter T. Instead of cars driving up to the room, the buildings are set back with 2 pools, one in each interior corner of the T. The T area is surrounded by a gated and locked fence. The cars are parked head-on to the fence just outside the pools but out of sight because of trees and shrubs. The area from the buildings to the fence are lush with growth and narrow walkways which give it the paradise feel. Decor is colorful, quirky with a touch of Kitch.

I looked at three rooms which all had kitchenettes. Some along a wall opposite the bed and some in an alcove which is much preferred. I cannot see the need for a full kitchen and would rather they had taken away the full fridge and stove, replaced with a small refridgerator and put a closet in this location. The closet area could then be free for a couch or desk with chair.... But now I am redecorating, not the point here.

Positives
- Great location.
-The paths to the rooms and layout are truly lush and have relaxing and tropical quality.
-There is a light breakfast daily.
-There is sand around the pool.
-There are toys for the pool.
-There is a bar (with sunscreen, repellent and water all day).
-The a/c is phenomenal.
-Staff is very friendly and accommodating and really try hard to make your vacation shine. (note- not 24 hour hence 4 stars and not 5)
-A short walk to the beach (approximately 5 blocks)
-A short walk to the main drag on Atlantic Avenue where the hip bars and restaurants are. (approximately 5 blocks.)
-Crisp sheets.
-Live music at the Tiki Bar.
-Child friendly and couple friendly. - In fact this is great with kids because you can put them to bed, go immediately out your door and sit at the Tiki bar with music and drink. I think it doesn't get much better than that when you vacation with little ones.
-Well maintained - I got the feeling they put up a new shower curtain every season, touch up paint....

Negatives
-many mosquitoes. (There is spray at the bar)
-I am a stickler for clean and while this place probably would get 4-5 starts by many standards I have a few things that always get to me. For example I hate fingerprints around door handles esp. in the bathroom. I don't like when the blow dryer needs to be cleaned. I cannot stand it when the bathroom faucets are wiped down but the nooks not cleaned and accumulate with whatever (even mineral deposits).
-I had to go to the front desk for toilet paper because we ran out. That should never happen.
-The breakfast is a nice touch but nothing healthy or edible in my book. The microwaved mini quiches were cold and to me not appetizing. Light and Lively Yogurt. Standard cold cereals. I did get excited at the fresh fruit but then I did not like what I tasted. This fruit is pre-cut and delivered. and you could taste whatever the preservative is. (would have been better to offer florida oranges)
-The Tiki bar is at the base of the stairs so if you are not into music... at bedtime .
-There is no indoor area to gather. No hang-out sitting in your room or communal waiting area that is indoors. So when you meet up with other people or just want to sit, there are the upright chairs in your room, or you can sit outside with either the insects or the extreme heat and sun.
-Mattress was too soft.
-Shades did not block out the light at night. (That was me unscrewing the light bulb outside my door each night.)

In Summary-
I would definitely go here with young children or as a young couple. If you do not plan to stay a lot in your room then this is also a great place. When you get down to it, this facility can never become more than it is because it is a motel, old and in a damp region. Yet, it is quirky with a touch of kitch, basically clean and spirited close to water and town.
-

Room Tip: -choose a room where the kitchen is in its own alcove and not along the bedroom wall. -with childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel4Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband booked Crane's for our anniversary and we had a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept with lots of tropical plants lining twisting walkways. The hotel itself seems to be nestled in a tropical rainforest! The check-in man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and we received vouchers for discounts at restaurants and shops in the area, which are a short walk from the hotel. We had a cozy room with a queen-sized bed on the first floor. The decor is very festive and well-thought out, from the palm fronds hand-painted on the wall to the framed artwork to the red Mexican tile throughout. There's even a sound machine in the room for white noise or wake-ups. The whole room was welcoming and spotless. I also appreciate how they put the television in a cabinet in front of the bed so it's not "staring" at you all night. There were complimentary mints and tea on our bed and complimentary bath and body works toiletries in the bathroom--no hotel knock-off brands! There was also a "gift basket" of sweets on the desk, ice cream in the freezer and beer/wine in the fridge--you have to pay for these items if you use them, but it's very convenient if you get hungry and don't feel like going out. The bed was very soft and comfy--the only con of the whole room is that the bed frame creaks a bit. Besides that we were very pleased with the room and the price, we've stayed in a lot of hotels for traveling, etc. and this was by far the best experience we've had in terms of comfort, value, restfulness, and great customer service. The complimentary breakfast is served outside until 11 am (so you can sleep in!) in a large "tiki" gazebo and includes fruit salad, baked goods, cereal, OJ, etc. Be sure to take a dip in one of their 2 freshwater pools!! The beach is also super close by and an easy walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor right next to the office, it was very quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My friend and I booked 2 suites, for 2 nights so we could take our kids to rapids water park and spend some time in the Delray area. This charming, island style hotel was great value and perfect for what we wanted. The room was very clean and spacious. The L-shaped sofa made 2 very comfortable twin beds plus a king size bed in the other room. My only complaint is that the king size bed was way too soft for my preference.
The layout of the hotel creates an intimate communal environment that seemed so friendly and relaxing. I think we timed it well, arriving on Sunday so by Monday the larger groups had checked out. It was quiet and peaceful (even with our kids!).
Overall the staff and the amenities were wonderful and I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisygirlrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As we were leaving from our week long stay, my 8 year old son said, as we walked through the hotel's beautiful new wrought iron gate with the "No Worries" sign above, "I miss Crane's already!". We all do, from the comfortable suite with the perfect touch amenities, to the 2 quaint pools, to the always smiling staff, to the serenity of the fountains and swaying palms and bamboo. Crane's is such a peaceful escape from the everyday and you can tell the staff and management take pride in it. When discussing taking a yacht cruise in the office, Sara at the front desk was so sweet in calling for me to make reservations, without me even asking. When I asked Manny a question about fresh pool towels, he stopped what he was doing to help, and once when I was just walking with pool towels, Gary asked if I needed fresh ones. Truly caring employees! Love the location....a quick walk to the beautiful beach and great restaurants overlooking it. Also walkable distance (even with our 2 young sons) to Atlantic Avenue shops and restaurants however we did enjoy Cathy's suggestion to take the "Downtowner", the golf cart ride that is FREE (tip only), to a restaurant one night. Adults and kids got a kick out of it. Please visit this resort and experience for yourself this little paradise! (PS - I mistakenly checked room service when rating items. Although there is no room service available, the cleaning service was excellent, and when we were on our way out after asking about new pool towels, we found fresh ones waiting in our suite so we'd have them the next morning. No concerns at all to be had when staff tells you they will leave something in your room...other places I would never dare!)

Room Tip: Only 2 floors, 2nd available by steps so if you don't want to climb, request 1st floor. Also, 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.2 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
1.6 mi away
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
#11 of 15 in Delray Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas

Address: 82 Gleason St, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6971 (Formerly Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range: $161 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an incredible Key West-like experience just one block away from the Atlantic Ocean, Crane's Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas is a fun and festive hotel with 28 distinctive and luxurious guest suites all nestled within a lush tropical setting. This creates a tranquil environment even though the hotel is just steps away from the shops and restaurants along Delray Beach's hot and happening Atlantic Avenue. The poolside Tiki Bar is stocked with an array of tropical drinks, signature sangria, wines, and both domestic and imported beer, from 5 - 9pm on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. Crane's Beach House Hotel is please to provide it's guests with a smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane`s Beachhouse Hotel And Tiki Bar
Cranes Beach Hotel
Cranes Beach Delray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing