We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place”

J&J Seafood Bar and Grill
Ranked #13 of 415 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything is so fresh and delicious. The oysters are outstanding and the service is great. The venue is small but quaint and the key lime pie is to die for. We do go to City Oyster as well because they have a full bar. JJ's is a notch above them when it comes to seafood if they had a full bar we would eat there more frequently.

Go and enjoy!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    70
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watertown,CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great variety of Appetizers, salads and seafood with a great raw bar. I travel frequently, always looking where the locals eat. You won't be disappointed, great quality from scratch foods.
Sandy from CT

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrajean777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Flavor”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are looking for the real local flavor of Delray beach, I strongly recommend J & J Raw Bar on Atlantic Avenue. It is run by a husband and wife team, Tina & John. John is a Culinary Institute of America graduate and the seafood is fresh and perfectly prepared!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazingly consistent and great”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Have been a patron for 5 plus year and love the food and atmosphere. Chef/owner John and wife Tina have updated the decor and given the place a New England beach feel. The menu is extensive, with lots of fish and meats and salads, but I do not think I have ever ordered off the menu. Every special just sounds (and is) so good. There is always a "whole fish" preparation offered? And don't forget the raw bar--shucked to order! We have brought many friends, work colleagues and family to our absolute favorite place on the Ave. Nice reasonable wines--let Tina help you choose! Service is great, with long term staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much much more than a raw bar!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I'm not a raw bar enthusiast but I love their seafood. Actually, on occasion, I like their meat dishes too (BBQ ribs). My favorite is the roasted Branzino (pl. branzini) over mashed potatoes. Don't be deterred by the whole fish concept, you will be rewarded by a very moist roasted fish brimming with flavor. I am a true lunch person, meaning 2-3 courses, not just a sandwich so I love that most of their dishes are available throughout the day. That being said, they have a great mahi mahi sandwich if that is what you are in the mood for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdgarGDelrayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&J Seafood Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to J&J Seafood Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing