We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Most beautiful hotel property I have ever seen.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundy House
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Most beautiful hotel property I have ever seen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is not so much a hotel as a series of buildings with rooms spread over a verdant tropical oasis. You walk in off of the street and into a beautiful jungle. I was staying for business but decided to take a break from the chain hotels this once and am so glad I did. Because I was gone for work during the day, I did not have an opportunity to enjoy the restaurant, though I did spend an hour every morning in the wonderful pool. The live fish swimming around me in the pool were incredible and one of several reasons I hope to bring my spouse with me the next time I stay here. The room was spacious with high ceilings and a large balcony. The bathroom was huge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    40
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
50
84
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We got married here in March and could not ask for a better experience. Tom the coordinator was just great. He detailed everything so there would be no surprises and there none. His communication was great throughout the whole experience which kept the stress level down.
Tom's crew was also great. He assigned his assistant, David, to be responsible for our personal needs on the day of the wedding and he delivered. Whatever it was, no matter how simple, David took care of it so we had no worries.
The service crew did a great job. Got to give a special shout out to Shane from the dinner crew. His interaction and animated personality was great.
The food was great and everyone loved their dinner. So a special thanks to the chef.
The atmosphere was awesome for a garden wedding and the guests loved the vibes from the garden.
We used a couple of the vendors from their Vendors List and they were all great. From the entertainment EMac Music to the cake Sugar Chef.
At the end of the day we were happy with everything. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

my famuly and my daughter s bridesmaids had a reservation for a bridal luncheon in February on a Friday at Noon. We were quoted an amount for minimum to spend. When we finished and ready to pay, the minimum was added to the total spent. On such a happy occasion, we were very upset and disappointed at the un professionalism of
of such a popular establishment. They were liars on what was agreed upon when reservations were
made.
We loved the food, atmosphere and service
Unfortunately we will never go again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for a week in the Sundy House. Their focus seems to be more on weddings and the restaurant business than the hotel part. It is fun to walk through the botanical garden the first day, but after a few days , it becomes tedious.

We stayed for six days, but an appropriate room for us was only available for five days. For the final day, we rented a pricy two bedroom suite that was way too big for us. Then our flight home was cancelled and we had to stay in Florida for an extra two days. I asked the manager if they had a vacancy for the single king room that we had for the first five days. She said no. I asked if she could give us the two bedroom suite at the same price as the single king room ($50 off). She said no, but she could give us $20 off. We just spent $2400 there! I would say there was zero percent chance that the two bedroom suite was going to be rented out on a Tuesday and Wednesday. We were doing them a favor , also. Win-win? It wasn't the money , so much as a take it or leave it , can't do attitude. This manager gave us the same negative attitude when we asked if we could be on a waiting list for an earlier brunch time. NO!

I will say that Rachel and Brian at the desk had the can do hospitality attitude that we look for when we stay at nice places. We will stay elsewhere for our next trip to Delray in February.

Room Tip: We did not see flat screen TVs in either of our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scarletknight29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a historic inn-and-restaurant located just a block south of Atlantic Avenue in what once was a solely residential area. We stayed over the New Year's Holiday for a few days around Delray's First Night Celebration. There is sufficient self-serve parking in a lot on site. It was great just parking the car and walking to Atlantic Avenue activities.

The big draw about the place is the landscaping, pool and restaurant. We spent a pleasant afternoon on the grounds, specially in-and-around the pool. Pool area is like nothing we'd ever seen before, with lush landscaping, fully stocked with fish, lots of seating. The grounds are landscaped so that you feel as if you've entered a standalone jungle and every corner that you turn is a new surprise. Lots of gazebos, cul-de-sacs, bridges, flowing water. When you go in, you feel as if you've left the city behind.

Room was well apportioned, with an entryway bar area (built-in cabinets, granite counter tops, mini microwave, fridge), and modern bar ware, plates and other service items. Furnishings were unique; our room decorated in something like British colonial style. With a balcony overlooking part of the pool area.

About the breakfast: The wife wanted waffles. The breakfast is tastefully laid out continental: basket of mini croissants and pastries, breads for toasting, artfully arranged platters and bowls of freshly cut fruit, fresh-fruit compote, coffees and juices. Strictly self-service. Nothing hot. Given that there was a cook on hand to prep the buffet each morning, who was basically hanging around just for that, would it have been that much more of an effort to have him hang out with a hot plate and prep some eggs to order?

About the noise at night: The restaurant area is partially open. And the band/music/dancing is set-up in what is essentially an open-to-the-elements dance floor. That means that any party noise from the restaurant or a wedding will spread over the grounds. And their guests are out wandering the grounds. If you're looking for a place that shuts down at 8 PM, this is not the place for you and you will be disappointed. But if you're up for the energy of watching a wedding unfold, or dancing along to the (overheard) music of a party, then it's a perfect

Room Tip: Although this is popular for couples, families are welcome. If room does not have enough beds, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

So in love with this place. Spent the weekend their for our Christmas to US, so wonderful. Beautiful grounds, great service, wonderful food!! Didn't want to leave. Greg & David were just the BEST!!! We'll be back as often as we can.

Room Tip: Room 11 2nd floor with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to a wedding at Sundy House. The grounds are gorgeous, lush and tranquil. Thats about all the good things I can honestly say about Sundy House. Wedding was outside in the heat of summer. All the women wore high heals which kept getting stuck in the coral holes in the ground which runs through the entire outside of this place. Wear wedges or flats if going to be outside. The ceremony was held on the grass , again we all sunk into the dirt with our beautiful heals on, no walkway or platform. The ceremony was at 6:00 we didn't get any food until 8:30pm which was served buffet style. I'm sorry if you are going to a wedding dinner should be served to the guests. We should have to wait in line for our food which they kept running out of more waiting. I tried the paella which was underseasoned and fishy tasting. The wahoo wrapped in banana leaves was horrid no one ate it, i could see it left behind on the plates. Salad was served in this little glass , I had to go back 3 times just to get a plate full of salad. I did not enjoy this menu at all. The wedding cake was red velvet and another flavor cake but all 10 of us could not figure out what the flavor was but needless to say they were both very very very stale. We left by 10:00 we just couldn't take anymore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetravelerFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.8 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#4 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#2 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Property: Sundy House
Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing