We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Setting, Disappointing Food and Service”
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundy House
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“5 Star Setting, Disappointing Food and Service”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Sundy House can't be beat when it comes to a romantic setting. That is why so many weddings are held there. In fact, one was being held there but we were accommodated with a nice table in a beautiful room with a fireplace and stained glass windows. The outside gardens are beautiful and the porches with rocking chairs are the perfect setting for a glass of wine. However, our appetizers and entrees were disappointing. Maybe the kitchen staff was so busy with the big wedding that they didn't have time to attend to the orders of the regular customers but we waited thirty minutes after our appetizers were taken away before our entrees were served. When my husband's lamb was presented he could see it was raw, not rare so he had to send it back. Even then he said it was flavorless and could not compare to the lamb he had recently at the Kei Grill and Alexander's. My half portion of pasta with mushroom, basil cream sauce was very good. Of the three small plates we sampled (barbecue chicken on pita, potato and bacon croquettes and watermelon and feta bruschetta ) the only one that really was memorable was the bruschetta. I have had lunch at Sundy and had a better experience but I won't return for dinner, maybe for a romantic glass of wine in the romantic bar and then move on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jupiterbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
63
101
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, MA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

. I cant say enough about the unday bunch. There is such a varity of fresh seafood (oysters, Crab Leg, huge shrimp) the carving station had Turkey, Lamb Prime rib and Beef tenderloin. The serivice was on parr. Unlimited champagne, bloody Marys' and vodka drinks (and they dont skimp) We went on Easter sunday its a little pricy but well worth the cost,
The grounds are lovely it was a perfect setting for a perfect day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiorentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We arrived after hours of traveling to a very rude and unwelcoming reception. For $350 a night I would like to feel welcomed and at least attended to. We waited in 8 minutes of awkward silence in a small office while she talked on the phone. She did not offer details of the property, assistance with luggage or guide us to our room to point out possible sights. Her name was Jaclyn- if you see her upon arrival- don't let her spoil an otherwise nice B&B. Wished we would have gotten the intimate boutique hotel experience for the price- next time, we'll just find a Westin.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylacey216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Sundy House - it's not just for wedding and receptions! While it's obvious why this secluded, lush secret just off bustling Atlantic in Delray Beach is a favorite destination for those to tie the knot, it's also a relaxing, impressive retreat.
My family needed a two bedroom two bath situation and we were booked in a two-story townhome with a jungle theme. To say we were floored from the moment we walked in would be an understatement! Local family all came by to visit and see this place and one even blurted out "I could LIVE here!"
We will be back!

Room Tip: We've only been this one time and our townhouse was toward the rear of the property. We thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryforGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

You will feel like you have entered another world when you step into the gardens at Sundy House. The restaurant was nice and eating in a private spot in the garden was fantastic. The rooms, however, leave a lot to be desired. Tired furniture and weird decor. Bed was very comfortable. Location was perfect for us, just a couple blocks from the tennis center. I got a great deal via an online travel site which prompted me to choose this place and if I could get another good deal, I would stay here again just to enjoy the atmosphere outside of my room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilln5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have stayed here and found it bery clean, very romantic, it is an awesome hide a way, a short distance from Atlantic Avenue and many great bars and restuarantes there.

The Sudy House is surrounded by an amzining garden with great variety and rare plants. Expect there to be leaf litter on the paths, this isnt going to be manicured like a Disney trip, this is a real working botannical garden.

The food served is above average, breakfast is very good. We will return.

The pool and it's deck are a great place to be lazy and wnjoy the sun.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachersFromSoFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The quality and service of the Sundy House has deteriorated based on our previous stays. Grounds are in need of maintenance (fallen down gazebos, trash, sheets, cleaning products & rags left in the walkways). Front desk staff has a "Why are you bothering me?" attitude. My husband & I stayed in guest room 9 which was spotless but the furniture had water stains, the dresser drawers would not open, and the windows were broken so they would not lock or open. The walls between the rooms are very thin and we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. I tried to contact the front desk via phone to request a quieter room and no one answered the phone. I walked over to the front desk and no one was there so I called the front desk and left a voice mail to advise we were leaving due to the noise level and requested a call back ASAP which came 3 days later. The Sundy staff person who contacted me said other guests had the same compliant and the noise I was hearing was the bamboo trees hitting the building. How’s that for service? I guess bamboo trees sound like bedroom noises. Who knew?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WeekendVacati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Delray Beach I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Property: Sundy House
Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing