We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday to remember in Delray”
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundy House
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Birthday to remember in Delray”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I heard about the quaint treasure Sundy house and decided to treat my fiance to a romantic weekend for his birthday. I was very excited to swim in a natural pool with live fish!
We arrived a bit early an after some confusion w/the valet which is included, they didn't understand we were guests and attempted to charge us. We had a problem with our reservation thru orbit, so the hotel weren't expecting us, luckily they had 2 rooms available and the desk attendant was very patient while I decided which of the lovely rooms to choose, we decided on room 10 which is upstairs and has a kitchenette. The only downside is the street behind the hotel is under heavy construction and not much to look at. I was really disappointed to find out that the pool (our main reason for choosing Sundy House) was closed do to maintainence for our entire stay! The staff gave us their award winning Sunday brunch to make up for this.
The staff was kind and helpful for the most part and rooms impeccably tidy. We were surprised to come back to our room one day and find two employees fixing our remote. I wish we'd been able to take advantage of the garden tour, we had a hard time picking out the rare flowers and plants that were advertised on our own.
The Delray area was very charming and kitchy, tho a bit pretentious. There are several bars/pubs and Restaurants in the area and they're on the expensive side. Try driving or walking down Ocean Drive there are many mansions to oogle at! All in all our stay was great and I would love to visit again and explore another room and the pool!

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamaandemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
63
101
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had seen a brief segment on Sundy House on the travel channel and were intrigued by the fresh water swimming pool with fish. Before we arrived I wondered if we really could swim with the fish--YES you can and it is fun! The hotel is set in a beautiful garden that was lush with fruit and flowers when we were there in July. There were ripe star fruit, bananas and mangos everywhere! We missed the garden tour they offer but would really make an effort to catch it next time. Don't miss the small wading pool where the little fish will give you a pedicure! My daughter said, "I just love a fishy pedicure!" We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was nicely themed and furnished. The lower living area had a dining area, a living area with large screen tv, and a full kitchen with a breakfast bar. Upstairs were 2 bedrooms and baths with very nice linens, robes and toiletries. The beds were really comfortable and we slept so well in our secret garden. The continental breakfast offered daily was really a nice spread with different breads, bagels, fruit, cereals, eggs and bacon. Our room had an umbrella which would have been very useful had we remembered to take it with us the stormy afternoon we walked Atlantic Avenue. We were less than a block away from Atlantic Avenue where there were MANY nice restaurants and shops. The beach was about a mile from the hotel and would have been walkable, but they also offer shuttle. If you stay in the 2 bedroom suite, we left behind our beach umbrella because we couldn't take it on the plane..enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyDerbyGirl270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frequent traveler
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

my husband and i completely fell in love with the sundy house when we visited. it offers a beautiful tropical garden setting and a freshwater pool with fish in it. there are mango and banana trees and sometimes two macaws wandering around. we ate a "trial meal" to see how we liked it, and wound up getting married here in may and staying in one of the rooms. the decor in the rooms varies a lot, so whether you like the room you're given may depend on your taste (we had a room with a suspended bed, sort of a seaside theme - it was interesting!) the food is good, the service is good. HOWEVER, if you are planning to stay over the weekend be warned that this is an extraordinarily popular venue for weddings and events - we visited multiple weekends during the wedding planning process and there was ALWAYS a wedding or another event going on. they do end fairly early (10 or 11pm) and they tend to be smaller weddings but just be prepared that it may not be the tranquil, isolated paradise on a friday or saturday night that you might be hoping for.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank juicebox1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I just stayed here for a 2 day get away. The room we had was nice, although we had issues with the A/C. The gardens are amazing as is the pool. It is fresh water and there are fish in it that swim as you do. The breakfast was brought to our room each morning and was yummy and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annehinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2011

First of all the Sundy House has a great setting with a lot of nature and an original design. The pool features live fish and blends in naturally of the whole setting. There is a lot to see and it is like a small botanical garden. The rooms are nice and fit to the overall setting, everything was perfectly clean. The buffet breakfast featured a wide variety of foods including fresh fruit. Service was outstanding and people very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

read great reviews and grounds were amazing- mango trees- banana trees- fantastic gardens- little fish in the pool/lagoon, but I was willing to accept the "charm" of that. our room- # 7- was small and dark but, ok. The woman at check-in was friendly but said that no larger rooms were available.The trouble started on our way back to the room at nite when my husband asked the front desk about getting a bottle of water (none in the in-room frig) and he was told that a glass of water would cost him $8.00 but that he could walk three blocks to the local bodega (which he did). when he returned with the waters, he found my son and I in the room, staring at a huge 'palmetto bug' , i.e, a monster cockroach, walking the floor, way too near the bed. Well, it was much too big to crush with my shoe so I dropped a plate onto it and was surprised the thing didn't just lift it off of itself! I called the front desk and was asked if i wanted them to send someone in to kill/remove it. I was told that they are surrounded by gardens and that gardens yield bugs but that this happens rarely. I was told earlier in the day that no other (larger,second floor) rooms were available but when my husband told them we'd be leaving they offerred us half off our rate or another room (that hadn't been there before) Upon learning that the damn things fly, we decided that we couldn't sleep with both eyes closed without moving to the marriott!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Sundy House, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Sundy House. While you had an appreciation for the lovely grounds and gardens we do apologize your experience was less than perfect. It is our goal to provide guests with a memorable experience as well as enjoyment of the services and amenities. Your comments are important to us and will be shared with the appropriate departments. We would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2011

i am writing about my last and final visit to the resturant. while a very interesting setting, the service and food is very uneven. i made a reservation requesting an outside table several days in advance following up with call to assure that my request would be honored. on the way, i called again to say that we would be there and to save a table. i was put on hold for ten minutes. when i arrived, i was told that there were no outside tables and was placed at and odd table in the middle of a hall agains an overhead door. eventually, we were served but service was slow. our waitress removed our forks from the plates we had just used to save for our main course. we requested clean forks. we had to ask for water and butter refils. there is no graciousness about the place which could, if managed well be a wonderful place to entertain. rooms are dumpy and the place looks most like a bed and breakfast.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cusine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at Sundy House, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
We appreciate the detailed review of your visit to The Sundy House. Our goal is to always provide the highest level of service and attention to detail in order to maintain excellence. We do apologize that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that your concerns and issues will be addressed within the appropriate departments in order to improve future dining experiences. We would enjoy the opportunity to see you should you find yourself in our area again.

Kindest regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Delray Beach I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Property: Sundy House
Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing