We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect”

Scuola Vecchia Pizza E Vino
Ranked #7 of 411 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boca Raton FL
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Pizza made in a uniquely European/Italian mannner...lightly fired crust with a perfect balance or crunch and soft dough.
Excellent ingredients.
We tried 3 pizzas: a white: Quattro formaggio, and 2 reds: neapolitan Regina margherita, salccicion (sic).
All delicious to the 4 of us. Also had the meatball appetizer; perfect (I could have used more bread, but I'm sure if I had asked they would have provided more to sop up the remaining gravy...but I knew we'd be eating plenty of carbs on the main course)

Bravo- for a lovely setting, nicely decorated, pleasant atmostphere and service

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsears3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    64
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
752 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good pizza, somewhat unique but pricey”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The pizza is very good but perhaps not at the price. It is fresh, tasty, and somewhat unique. Service was fast but I'm not sure it's worth the extra cost.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union county
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the crust!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stumbled upon Scoula Vecchia Pizza E Vino, and couldn't have been happier! From the welcome we received, as we entered, the attentive wait staff, and then the BEST pizza from freshest homemade ingredients, it was truly a wonderful pizza dining experience! We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Serious about what they do, Pizza...”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

You rarely find such truly Italian toppings and combinations of toppings in this country. The blistering hot oven does just that to the crust, blisters it. Rare is that 'snap' combined with a tender dough that offers up that perfect chew to a pizza crust, as well. I've tried a few other 'coal-fired' or 'wood-fired' renditions in this foodie town and this place offers a pie that does not bend to please the masses. It offers up the connoisseur pie in the personal, built for one person size pizza. Order a couple of pies and share the fun of finding true Napolitano pizza with a friend. It won't be for everyone. Nothing really good ever is as most commercially minded, America Pizza Dopes that bash this place will attest.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just like back home in southern Italy”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have been in South Florida for 17 years and this is the ONLY place my (Italian) wife and I enjoy eating pizza. Many of the bad reviews people posted seem to be of those that have never traveled to Italy. If you are looking for Papa johns or Domino's pizza, don't go to this pizzeria. here you will find fresh ingredients and not your usual oregano loaded pizza sauce style topping. You can taste the freshness in the tomatoes, mozzarella and basil that will blow your mind!

If you understand brick oven and home made mozzarella and have experienced eating genuine pizza in Italy, (southern Italy that is), then you will be very satisfied!

I actually made my reservations on Facebook!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omegabv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuola Vecchia Pizza E Vino also viewed

Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Scuola Vecchia Pizza E Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing