We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful B-day celebration!”
Review of Old Calypso - CLOSED

Old Calypso
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Florida, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful B-day celebration!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I read with trepidation the negative reviews but wanted to try this restaurant on the scenic Intracoastal Waterway so took a chance. I made advance reservations for dinner for 10 and requested a table inside by a window. Was told they don't reserve window tables, but I could speak with the manager, Nick, and if he approves they will accommodate me. He said no problem for this B-day occasion. We had a great corner table by a window, the waiter was terrific, service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. Everyone ordered something different-- sole, duck, shrimp & scallops creole, etc. -- and thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The waiter brought out a big piece of cheesecake with candle on the house, perfect ending since we were stuffed. High praise from me, it was a lovely evening all around!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    6
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place without the manager”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food but the manager is rude and the owner should not tolerate this at a decent restaurant. Surely will lose customers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice view, good food,good value.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great food for a very reasonable price. A great seafood restaurant on the Intracoastal. I had the pecan encrusted sole and it was great. Good service too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Star517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I had concerns when a friend suggested we meet at the Old Calypso for a late lunch. Should not have worried....Complementary valet parking. Pleasant greeting. Classy island decor. Waterfront dining. Excellent server (Kalli). Oh yeh! And great food! They even pleasantly accomodated us when we had an unexpected, but welcomed, additional couple join our party increasing us from six to eight. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BogeyMan513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The manager needs to be fired.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After waiting an hour for a table, are you supposed to leave a restaurant crying and hungry? If so this is your place!! My family has been going to Old Calypso for 9 years, despite the inconsistent service because we love the food. The last time we were there, we were told there would be a 20 minute wait for a table. After waiting about an hour, a party came in with no reservation and the manager Nick took them right away. When the hostess tried to tell him we were next he yelled at her. When we questioned him, he waved his hand at us and told us, "I don't have time for you. Have a nice day. Good Bye." We contacted the corporate office but got not response. Not that I want anything from them. Nothing would get me to walk through their doors as long as that man is still working there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Calypso also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 
Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing