We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seagate Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We recently spent four nights at the Seagate Hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel at around 11am, we knew we were too early to check in, but were surprised that we were offered a quiet room (with balcony facing side street). Awesome! The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was huge and also nicely decorated. We love that we could walk across the drawbridge into downtown Delray Beach for lunch & dinner and also walk to the beach in the other direction. The "trolley" ride to the Seagate Beach Club was nice and worked well. The beach club was top notch as was the pool back at the hotel. We enjoyed the gym while there also. My only complaint would be that no one ever mentioned what the overnight charge was for parking our car ($19 daily) and that there was a $25 "resort fee" put on our account every day. While neither of these charges is a big deal, it just would have been nice if upon check-in, someone would have mentioned it. Oh, and we would really have appreciated a small refrigerator in our room. There was a microwave, but no fridge...strange! Overall we enjoyed our stay and loved the fish tanks in the lobby. Those are fascinating. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing a side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turquoisewater4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    152
    59
    30
    30
See reviews for
168
271
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Nice room though the term "courtyard view" was completely misleading - there was a small narrow window with a view of a roof! We threw open the curtains thinking it would reveal a window, but the curtains actually covered a wall. The beach club is nice but by 11am was crammed full of shouting children, it was so noisy that we couldn't have a conversation and had to move to the beach. Service was excellent at the pool/beach (less so in restaurant). What really annoyed me was an extra $25/day charge as a "resort fee" which I have never seen in my extensive travels. It's obnoxious, and more so then to charge extra for wifi access on top. When one pays for a room, it should include the fact that there is a coffee maker (one of the totally absurd reasons I was given for the extra charge)! There is also a $19/day charge for parking. It all added up to a significant extra % on top of the room rate.

Staff were nice, and the place is very new and has a good gym. Nice choice of breakfast options at the cafe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Seagate Hotel. Everything was top-notch. Friendly accomodating staff, lovely rooms and a pristine ocean-front private beach club. The hotel is not oceanfront, but they provide complimentary and frequent transportation to and from the beach (5 minutes away). The walk to the restaurants and shops on Atlantic Avenue takes about 10 (leisurely) minutes. This property exudes old world Florida charm, yet is equipped with ultra-modern ammenities. There is no detail that hasn't been accounted for. I especially enjoyed the orchid left on the bed at turndown.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

What a wonderful change of pace this place was after spending a few days at the Marriott in Fort Lauderdale for our family's spring break trip. We all loved the resort and the town. Don't let the fact that the hotel isn't on the beach deter you; it is so easy to get there and worth it when you do! All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The decor in the common areas and rooms is beautiful. Our room was a very nice size for 2 adults and 2 teens and the restaurant at the beach club was fabulous.

A few minor complaints: our room was facing the street and was a bit noisy. I don't understand providing a microwave but not an empty fridge. Also, why do hotels put huge tubs in their bathrooms? Is anybody using these? That space could be put to better use IMHO. Upon entering the beach club our first day our bag of chips was confiscated and it was a tad embarrassing. No big deal, but I would have appreciated signage or literature indicating that no food was allowed on the beach. Unfortunately smoking IS allowed, perhaps they could confiscate cigarettes? But, that's another story.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runwithit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We were supposed to have a romantic getaway and booked a room at the Seagate. Unfortunately, at 8 PM that evening we had to cancel. The cancellation policy mandates FULL PAYMENT if not cancelled by 4 PM 48 hours in advance. OK, a little harsh there. But what really upsets me is that I asked Amy to give the next person checking-in our room at no charge (why not make someone else's night since mine is toast?) NO can do. I can't treat someone on their honeymoon or anniversary either. Why not? Isn't kindness the new black? The manager, of course, was unavailable to discuss the matter. And I can't reschedule for a later date, either.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kzbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We recently brought customers in from out of state for 2 days of meetings. They were so impressed with the hotel and the service. The hotel went out of their way to make our customers feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmillsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

We recently hosted a "customer summit" and part of the exclusive package for our clients was that they got to stay 2 nights at the Seagate Hotel & Spa in Delray Beach. This is the first of a series of customer events we will be hosting, and we will definitely continue to use the Seagate Hotel for client accommodations. The hotel is beautiful and just a few blocks from the beach (important for our guests flying in from Jersey!) For this trip we were only booking a few rooms - but you would think with the service provided we were booking a larger block of rooms. Kate Connor was extremely helpful, and such a pleasure to work with. Options were provided as was friendly service all the way through. We hosted our executive dinner at the Seagate Beach club and it provided for the perfect atmosphere - great food, great ambiance, and a great night out for our team and our clients. We will definitely be using this hotel again in the future!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish_MMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.1 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.2 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagate Hotel & Spa

Property: The Seagate Hotel & Spa
Address: 1000 E Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Seagate Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Seagate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagate Hotel Delray Beach
The Seagate Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing