We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I could not have been happier with this property. I loved the retro feel to the property and the many amenities. The pool was great with wooden loungers with nice cushions. There was a pool table, putting green, and beach toys all free for use. Laundry was free. The stay included breakfast, a choice of breads and pastries with juice and coffee. Not a full breakfast but most little motels like this do not ever offer breakfast. Covered seating and a gas grill was just across the dunes from the ocean. On the beach there were cabanas free of charge. The rooms were huge- living room, kitchen and separate bedroom. The bed was comfortable. Sure, the place is old and shows signs of its age, but it was very clean. Only cons were loud ac unit and bedroom window could have used drapes that blocked morning sun better. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Even numbered room seem to have a bit more shade on the patios. There are nice loungers on each pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otownvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at Delray Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to give all guests the best experience possible and we are glad you were able to take advantage of all of our included amenities. Thank you for your feedback as well as we are always looking for ways to improve our property. We hope to have you back at the Delray Breakers the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a terrific beach get a way. The place has a spcious feel and if you like havinga n apartment this is a great place to stay. The rooms are big, the terraces on the second floor have ocean view and the kitchen is well equiped. The rooms on the first floor open out to the pool and spacious open area with putting green. The staff couldnt be more helpful and nice. The only negative is that the furniture is a bit dated. but I have to say the bed was super comfortable. I would definately go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clover01cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good and Bad but overall a good experience. We had a two bedroom apartment. The rooms were large, there were 2 bathrooms, a living space and a kitchen. However, only one of the bedrooms had an air conditioner. There was an air conditioner in the living room but the second bedroom was sweltering hot. You had to leave the bedroom door open to get in some coolness but it was still very hot. In addition, there had been a lot of rain the week before we got there and the ceiling fell on one of my kids in the second bedroom while they were sleeping. It was a little piece and no one got hurt but... On the good side, the location was great, they always had bottled water available and they had a laundry machine and detergent available for use at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Reading the less than stellar reviews, can't really disagree with some of the less than positive aspects being pointed out, yet, somehow the overall impression seems to be being missed. This particular unit is right on the Ocean, nice big window with totally unobstructed view of the waves hitting the shore and the sun coming up in the morning. The unit is large, about 600+sq ft with a roomy bedroom, combo living-dining room and a small, but complete kitchen. One door leads to a deck that is common to several units and the other to the stairs to the parking and beach. There is a private green area in the middle of the 24-unit complex with a pool, mini-putting course and sheltered seating area with a barbeque. Four of the units are directly on the ocean, with all the rest at least some view of the ocean.

With the Florida greenery abundance shedding daily, the staff picks things up promptly. Everything is well maintained and kept clean. As it's right on the beach, access is a direct walk. And on the beach there are sufficient cabanas for the number of the guests accomodated. In the mornings, coffee awaits at 7:00 together with free OJ as well as some baked goods.

Now as to the quibbles in the other reviews, yep, the place is a bit dated. But it's very spacious, neat, tidy, and kept fresh. It's also very quiet and private. Houskeeping is prompt and thorough. In our 8 years of staying here we've never had anything but good friendly help from the staff.

It's right next door to Wright by the Sea which gets the top TripAdvisor hotel rating in Delray Beach. We did stay there for a night a few years ago, but having tried both, we've continued to return and return to the Breakers ever since. Both are at the same spot on the beach, so there is no difference between the two in that respect. At the same price range, rooms are much bigger at the Breakers and a lot less for the higher end accommodations. For us, it's been an easy decision.

Already planning to be back next year once again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have just spent 3 days there with my family. It was low season so everything there looked abandoned. The apartment was decent but looked old and poor maintained. The air conditioning was extremely loud and the "continental breakfast" was coffee, pastries and frozen orange juice.
The positive thing is the location, right on the beach. Another plus is the complimentary bottled water and wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for three days along with other family members. My room infested with fleas. Staff apologetic though no remuneration offered. My sister's room had a gas leak. Staff kindly fixed it but really??? If you're looking for dated, campy and creepy....you're good to go.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank WAHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Breakers. It is an older property that is clean and well kept. The location can't be beat. It is right on the ocean. The units are decent sized and come with everything you would need. Full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, microwave, toaster, toaster oven, and utensils. Some of the appliances are old, as well as the furnishings. One thing that I found odd was having only a 19" television in the living room and no television in the bedroom. I really enjoy watching tv in bed and I missed not being able to do so. But everything is very clean. They do have a washer and dryer on site. However, the dryer was broken for my entire stay. Both were starting to show their age. But who can complain when they were free, along with the laundry detergent. They also have free WiFi which worked well, although it was down one day but promptly fixed. The pool was fairly clean and also showing a little age. The pool area itself was very nice with plenty of chairs and an ample supply of very comfortable beach towels. There was a nice large patio outside my room with plenty of seating. The beach is just a short walk away. They have about 6 cabanas on the beach with plenty of chairs, which were also starting to show their age. But I suppose there's not much you can do being directly on the ocean with the salt air. There is also a free continental breakfast every morning from 7-10 AM, along with a complimentary newspaper. It included coffee, orange juice, muffins, danish, and cake. They also set up a bunch of trays with coffee pots and decanters for the orange juice which I thought was a great idea. Definitely not anything fancy, but well stocked, clean and nice to have every morning. I also found the coffee to be outstanding. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping was also very nice. Directly next door to this hotel is Wright By The Sea which is the highest rated hotel in Delray by TripAdvisor. That hotel was jam packed and I could hear a lot of commotion going on over there. I think they had a live DJ one night. I would guess the Breakers were less than half full during my stay which I actually enjoyed. It was very quiet and you almost felt like you had the entire place to yourself. I would definitely recommend this hotel, although it depends what you are looking for. If you want a lot of action, this isn't the place. If you want a nice, clean, friendly, peaceful place with a nice "beachy" feel to it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canaligator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
1.6 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
1.8 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
1.7 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
746 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delray Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range: $204 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delray Breakers on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Breakers on the Ocean, we take great pride in catering to our guests. We offer a variety of accommodations and amenities. Our one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments located on the perfect beach setting right on the Atlantic Ocean. Located in beautiful Delray Beach, on two acres with 200 feet of white sandy beach front, we provide a relaxing, serene setting offering pool, beach, mini golf, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Delray Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing