We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine Here!!!”

Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 415 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dine Here!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

From the fresh aroma of the addictive French bread to the exquisite preparation of the daily specials, Joseph’s Wine Bar and Cafe was a splendid choice to celebrate my birthday in March. We learned about this small, family owned restaurant from Trip Advisor. The attention to detail was evident in the attentive service and quality food preparation. Everything we ordered, including the haddock special with basmati rice and spinach, and the rack of Australian lamb with asparagus and mashed potatoes, tasted fresh and delicious. I can’t comment on the desserts since the manager allowed us to bring our bakery supplied carrot cake to complete the celebration. This was a nice personal touch that we appreciated. We look forward to dining here again on our next trip to Delray Beach.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    49
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I went to Josephs on the recommendation of TripAdvisor. The experience and food lived up to the reviews. We were given our choice of tables for comfort and immediately felt welcome. The wine and menu selections are diverse enough to please anyone. We loved the food, service and atmosphere. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EdmondMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Abysmal service ruins dining experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Went to Joseph's for dinner and was met by Joseph. very personable and sat us at table. We arrived ahead ofmournreservation. His son proceed to take our order. Also very personable. We ordered one salad, three dinners, no appetizers. The meal took 2-1/2 hours. It was truly ridiculous. We never ordered coffee or dessert because we were totally ignored after dinner. I had to ask for the check twice, and couldn't wait to leave since everyone in our party was upset. What a shame since the food is very good. However, they don't have enough wait staff ormkitchen staff for the number of tables they have. Joseph and his son take orders, bus tables, serve drinks and wine, get checks etc and while I admire their work ethic, it creates enormous neglect of their patrons. On our way out, there were two other groups complaining vociferously about the service. We will not be back. No excuse for horrendous service in a town with many quality restaurants that excel at being attentive to their customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hrbaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and I'm very choosy.”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The food was outstanding. The cesaer salad was one of the best i've had and we've dined in tons of top restaurants. My salmon was so tender and the almond, coconut, garlic topping was so yummy. Fresh homemade bread. Love it.. The ahi tuna was melt in ur mouth. Wines great. Small intimate. Caring staff. Lovely. Would go back!!! And I never go back unless really worth it.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stlouishomedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a leisurely meal”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This small, family owned and run restaurant was delightful. We went on a Sunday evening at about 7:30 and the outside tables were full and about 1/2 of the inside tables. Brother and sister waited on the tables and the service was slow but good. Don't come here if you want to dine quickly. This is a restaurant where it will take you several hours to dine. Both of our dishes were great (Salmon and Mahi Mahi). We had the turnovers-made fresh daily by the Mom and delicious. A great selection of wines and the son seemed to be knowledgeable and helped us make a good choice. The restaurant is located in an interesting neighborhood with attractive restaurants and shops but not the "touristy" feel of Atlantic Blvd.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank austinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing