We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoy this place”

Bill & Frank's Brick House
Ranked #20 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Price range: $1 - $13
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I really enjoy this place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I always get the buffalo chicken sandwich and its always cooked just right. The sides are questionable sometimes but they have a pretty good salad bar. It's never really crowded so getting a table isn't difficult and the service is always quick and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    133
    64
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Spoiled/Rotten Steak”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

To sum it up in a few words THE WORST DINNING experience EVER!!!! My steak smelt bad so I returned it, the manager came over and proceeds to tell me that it only smelt bad, but when he tasted it was really good! He offered me another steak, but what I really wanted was a trash can to puke in. Disgusting!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizzhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Exploring Deland for the first time. Had high hope for good lunch. Hostess was unwelcoming. Waiter was provided minimal service. Restaurant empty at noon, waited 15 minutes for app to appear --was cold (BBQ meatballs). One of two entrees was also cold. Could not flag down waitstaff who were all huddled in the back chatting (again the restaurant was not busy). Finally our waiter returned and meal was reheated. Brisket was dry, mashed potatoes had no flavor. Manager was doing everything but observing his staff. Clearly no one in Kitchen who knows food and food quality. Could be a great lunch place but they need someone with culinary training in the kitchen to supervise the "cooks". Managers need to manage their staff and train them to be customer oriented.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Your_Travel_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This place is a complete mess”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went here on a Wednesday night & they couldn't get anything right. Went out to eat with friends who live in the area who said they go there since it's one of the few places downtown with a full bar. Maybe that's how they stay in business cause it's not for the poor food or owners who obviously treat their staff & customers alike...very poorly.

I've seen more toppings on a burger than on their side salad, was the last to get my food & it was cold. Asked the server who was pleasant but harried if they could just heat it up for me & she took it back to the kitchen. A minute later & hear & big crash which was of course my food being dropped. The owner came out to apologize but didn't really seem to care beyond being angry at his staff who seem to work in fear. He took half off my entree which when I got a replacement was hot, but instead of pieces of steak in the dish, seemed like scraps of meat with all the fat & gristle. Overall no-one was happy with their food & said they wouldn't go back. I'd give it a "0" if it was an option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A very varied menu”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are looking for a lot of choices on the menu, come here...from soups to salads to seafood to burgers and steaks, chicken and Italian...it's all here. I had the black and blue burger topped with a tasty blue cheese sauce. The burger was well cooked, the bun fresh, the presentation pleasant, the sweet potato fries not greasy...an excellent choice. I also had the salad bar which featured several lettuces, all your regular salad fixings, plus crab salad and tuna salad and pasta salad and also pudding and yogurt for dessert. Most was very fresh but I did discover a cucumber that had seen better days. My friend had a southwest salad which he enjoyed although the peppers were VERY hot and the black beans very scarce. His onion soup was outstanding. The chocolate cake for dessert was tasty but dry. All in all the meal was enjoyable and filling although the restaurant itself had no sound absorbing material and was very noisy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iuvenis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill & Frank's Brick House also viewed

 

Been to Bill & Frank's Brick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing