We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room @ HJ was Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Inn of DeLand
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in DeLand
A TripAdvisor Member
Duluth, GA
316
Reviewed January 22, 2006

I was horrified when I entered the room at this Howard Johnson. Unfortunately all nearby hotels were booked and I had no choice but to stay. The bedspreads were stained. The tub bottom was black. The tops of the drawers, TV, night table, etc. were sticky with grime. The bathroom smelled from urine. There was broken glass in the parking area. It was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Property maintenance received additional training in properly maintaining the outside area. They were informed of your report of broken glass in the parking area and instructed to look into the matter and clean up the area.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 69 of 69 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed October 19, 2003

Honeymoon trip.Brochure was much overated. Hotel itself was in promised location. Staff absent. Hotel service was deplorable. They were aware this was a honeymoon trip and did not have a beachfront room readyas had been promised 2 weeks ago.They eventually decided to cook breakfast for us. Eveidently the kitchen help was absent.We did get transportation to the Daytona 500 and ate hot dogs there.After tears from me my poor husband persuaded them to bring a bottle of champagne to our room, Thing is, if their staffing was that sparse they should have notified a honeymoon couple of this situation. Don.t you think????We didn,t have a clue until the day we arrived.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry you did not find it the pleasant experience which you had anticipared.

Congratulations on your marriage, may it be filled and blessed with a life time of happiness.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smalldragonvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykonos1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
280 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
31 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn Near Blue Spring
Quality Inn Near Blue Spring
#5 of 5 in Orange City
97 reviews
13.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Daytona Speedway
WoodSpring Suites Daytona Speedw...
#41 of 74 in Daytona Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn of DeLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn of DeLand

Address: 2801 E New York Ave, I-4 Exit 118, DeLand, FL 32724-6403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland)
Location: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range: $43 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn of DeLand 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Budget Inn of DeLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland Hotel Deland
Howard Johnson Deland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing