We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go elsewhere!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Inn of DeLand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Inn of DeLand
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in DeLand
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
“Go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This place is disgusting. It is very dirty. The bathtub was not clean, it had dirt and hair in it. The towels and the bed sheets were old, thread bare and yellow. The carpet was covered in stains but the worst part was the stuff that came off my feet when I stepped in the shower. I did not walk barefoot in the room after that. The shower turned very hot in the middle of the shower for my six year old who was screaming it was burning him, the same thing happened to me and my husband. The only good thing I can say is that we were on the back side and could see the crowded bar but we did not hear and noise from there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry about the problem you experienced with the water temperature. I hope none of you were burned.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was notified of the problem you experienced with the water temperature in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to any needed repairs or replacements.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    9
    7
    45
See reviews for
13
8
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SonomaCa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel people were very polite but the overall conditions of the hotel was not good. A true budget hotel. But hey it worked what can I say, honest opinion.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_KarenSonomaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these DeLand hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday and noticed motorcycles everywhere and loud, booming music coming from a bar near the office. We were given our room key, carried our luggage up the stairs and found that the key card didn't work. We were issued new room keys, and opened the door to a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. It was supposedly a non-smoking room. The bathroom smelled of urine and the door did not close completely. There was hair on the bathroom floor along with several cockroaches. The sheets were threadbare and the towels were yellowish. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, but I was so freaked out by the cockroaches, I didn't sleep well. Around 3 am we woke to the sound of about 10 people partying and loud booming music in the parking lot near our vehicle. The worst motel experience of my life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank resstop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management and desk staff were reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

• Maintenance was informed of the cockroaches found in the room assigned to you and instructed to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

The room was terrible, it looked like someone had a food fight in the room. the walls were filthy bathroom tub was brown there were stains on the carpets it was nasty...........

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtoledo211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We drove up and saw all these motorcycles and should have left. The pool was green. Bikers rode around the courtyard the first night. The second night, there was a profanity-filled concert that we could hear at full blast with the doors shut. Finally the police came and shut it down. Our bathroom wasn't cleaned. Isn't there anyone in DeLand who inspects hotels?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Pool staff received additional training in properly maintaining the pool.

• Management and desk staff were reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

dont stay here!!! I dont care how cheap it is! i stayed in this nasty hotel the night before my wedding there was no hot water, mold in the showers, and stains on the sheets, carpet was old and nasty and the room stunk.. the room smelt so bad i had to open the door. . I tell everyone not to stay here. . and the service? what service?? they pay someone to clean those rooms?for what? cause there not clean!!! . Horrible place!!! but i do reccommend to go to a nearby hotel and go to the bar Crossroads they have at the hotel. nice owner, good lil food menu and great beer prices. the owner of this bar is seperate from the hotel and not jointed with them. check it out. but never ever stay at this nasty grubby hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland for your recent stay in our area. Congratulations and all kinds of blessings on your recent marriage, may it be all that the two of you have dreamed of.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

What a dive!!! When we arrived the parking lot was full of bikes and people drinking, this was due to the bar that is attached to the hotel lobby. The lobby was very small and the doors were propped open with fans running to get the smell of the smoke out. This was also where you got your "breakfast". When we went to the room it smelled like urine. It was not very clean. The pool was green and moldy and was unable to be used. We walked in looked around and walked out. The photos make the hotel look decent, it is NOT!!! We returned the key and got our money back immediately. This is not a place for children or family. Don't waste your money!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hekter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojodaytonabeachdela, Webmaster at Budget Inn of DeLand, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Hekter,

Thank you for your recent attempt to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland, I’m sorry that it did not work out.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Pool staff received additional training in properly maintaining the pool.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was instructed to see to it that the images on the internet will properly reflect what will be found on the premises.

• Desk staff received our commendation concerning the courteous way in which they treated you, our valued wanted to be guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again attempt to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeLand
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn of DeLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn of DeLand

Property: Budget Inn of DeLand
Address: 2801 East New York Ave, I-4 Exit 118, DeLand, FL 32724 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland)
Location: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn of DeLand 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Budget Inn of DeLand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Daytona Beach/Deland Hotel Deland
Howard Johnson Deland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing