We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Rancho Mexicano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rancho Mexicano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rancho Mexicano
Ranked #70 of 179 Restaurants in DeLand
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“El Rancho Mexicano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

While my wife and I live in Arizona, we always visit this wonderful restaurant when visiting family and friends in Florida.
Everything we've been served was excellent, but their tamales stand out. I'm a tamale lover and theirs are among the best I've ever had! The masa is so light and tender, and the accompaniments and service are great too.
You can pay a lot more for a great meal, but why?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PWard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“el rauncho”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

portions small, attitude unfriendly, expensive, tastier food elsewhere. won't be going back ever again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhumhc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dine there often at both lunch and dinner. Fabulous lunch specials at $5.99 and you certainly will not leave there hungry.
Recently had a evening club meeting there...food and service were excellent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jhumhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astor, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Salsa to die for and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We love to come to town for El Rancho Mexicano. It was recommended to us several years ago and we became instant fans. Even went for my birthday and they gave us a free fried ice cream. Better than I remember them in the 80's. I'd stop just for dessert. Love the salsa, we stop and get it to go. I love the beef cheeks - hard to find elsewhere. The tamales are great. Lunch specials, if you can get there, are the way to go. We have had about half the menu and liked everything. Free wi-fi too!
Friends, family or just you for sure. Casual business lunch. Comfortable with themselves couples. It is not the place for a first date, well maybe if you are already friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meandmyNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food and people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

its ok...little high priced for the meal they serve.

Helpful?
Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho Mexicano also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing