We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor, friendly people, and good food”
Review of Forno Bello

Forno Bello
Ranked #22 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our culinary team combines their creative minds to continuously provide members of the DeLand community with authentic and delicious Italian cuisine. From our locally famous Wood-Fired Pizza to our mouthwatering entrees, we strive for excellence. We invite you and your family to dine with us.
Ellenville, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, friendly people, and good food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Enjoyed our first visit today. Lovely interior with great ambiance. Hostess seated us very quickly and was very friendly. Server was attentive. Very clean large restrooms.

Delicious Eggplant Margarita Pizza (wood fired) and Eggplant Rolletini Florentine. Took home some of the food due to large portion size.

Will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    54
    20
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Deland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Confused Servers”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Forno Bello several times since they opened this summer. The food is always great however the servers seem confused every time I have been there. The left hand does not seem to know what the hand is doing. Staff training and meetings might be helpful to get everyone on the same page. One big bright spot is Anthony, he is great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wood-oven Pizza Comes to DeLand!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It's the "real-deal" wood pizza!!!! I really like pizzas cooked in a wood oven, so I was excited by the rumors of a wood-fire pizza place opening up in DeLand. The wait was worth it! The restaurant has an upscale decor (for DeLand) and the service staff wear ties.....but don't worry, you won't be uncomfortable dining in shorts and a t-shirt. There were ample wait staff during my visit, I didn't even wait a minute to be greeted and seated. My waitress was one of the best/most professional I have found in DeLand. Being oven-fired, I expected above average prices. I was pleasantly surprised to see a menu with prices comparable to other Italian restaurants in town. Pizzas only come in one size and ran around $8. We ordered two pizzas, one a sausage/meatball/mushroom, and the other a meatball/mushroom/olive. We hadn't had anything to eat that day, yet we could not eat it all. The pizzas are on a thin crust, toppings were ample, not too much tomato sauce, were not at all greasy from the meat and the crust perfectly cooked to a light crisp. These might be the best pizzas in town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey_in_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Third time there tonight. 1st time went in and had a sit down dinner. The Italian food is not all that special there. It was greasy and not all that flavorful (tried the chicken marsala and the eggplant parm). We heard that the pizza was amazing so we decided to give it another try. The pizza was ok. We had 2 pizzas (they only come in one size about a small to medium at most other pizza places) one peperoni and one called The New Yorker (mozz, and prosciutto) when they cook them just right and the crust gets crispy but not burnt they are not too bad. Went back a 3rd time for take out pizza. The issue they have is that pickup orders must be picked up at the bar. This would not be a bad thing if the bartenders actually cared about people that were there for pickup orders. If you are there for a pickup order they will only help you when they have nothing better to do. Waited for well over 10 min before the bartender even acknowledged we were there and then had to wait another 10 min before we got out order. The pizza was cold and undercooked. After the horrible service we received I can not recommend that anyone go here. The I don't care attitude of the bartenders is a sad excuse of customer service and in the restaurant industry customer service is the most important thing out there. Hopefully someday they add in a separate register for takeout so the customers don't have to deal with bartenders that don't want to help them since they are not their bar customers. Best bet stay away from this place and go eat at one of the other restaurants in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JR32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been waiting forever for them to open. So glad that they did. Great pizza and very fairly priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forno Bello also viewed

 

Been to Forno Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing