We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Cool place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dally in the Alley Bistro - CLOSED

Dally in the Alley Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Georgia Avenue
Transit: Votran stop on the corner of Howery and Woodland Blvd.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food. Cool place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The price point definitely should be revisited. That's my only criticism. Now on to the good stuff. The wife and I had the venison strudel which was definitely not dry. We went years eating only venison in place of beef. This venison is good. They wrap it in a nice pastry and give it just the right amount of sauce and veggies. The mushrooms were....I could've just had the mushrooms they were so good. Wife's mom had the sweet tea chicken which was remarkably juicy. The restaurant itself is pretty cool inside. Small but spacious. Don't look at a menu beforehand, it won't be the same. That's not a complaint, it's a compliment. I like the idea that the chef chooses what to make based on what she has rather than based on a menu that's set in stone. The wine and beer list isn't long but it is definitely complete. We are definitely going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_castle911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and local in Deland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Finding good dining options for vegetarians and carnivores alike can be a challenge in central Florida. Dally in the Alley would be a stand out in any city. Menu changes monthly to reflect what the chef is finding (and feeling). Dishes sampled on our recent visit ranged from a flavorful wild rice entree salad to a ribeye served with delicious vegetable sides. The giant raviolio with fava beans and broth was stuffed with a soft cooked egg (how'd she do that?). But the best dish was the savory cheesecake, a standout! Thoughtful service, creative wine and beer list. Desserts looked great. In a charming up and coming Deland neighborhood.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Service and atmosphere is great. Nice friendly place to relax and enjoy a good dinner. I state good only because the scallop appetizer I ordered had two that were not totally cooked in the middle. The parts that were cooked were excellent. Ordered the Venison Strudel as the main course. It is served inside a pastry similar to a croissant. The flavor was very good but it was also very dry. The waiter brought additional sauce which really helped eliminate the dryness. Venison having no fat combined with being baked in a pastry I just felt dried it out. If your order this dish ask for extra sauce upfront. Servings are not large but adequate if you're not starved. The jury is still out as to whether we try it again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I think the price point should be revisited. We got the daily specials, coffee and cup cakes for a bill of $70. The food was exceptional. We had smoked grouper and the ribeye. The dishes were planned out to perfection. The entire alley comes alive at 5 each Friday with vendors and open market. The decor is quaint, rustic and tastefully executed. Fantastic date destination complete with fresh flowers on each table. Exceptional food at an exceptional place.

Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never A Bad Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

After 3 trips to Dally In The Alley, I have not had a bad or even average meal yet. All top notch, innovative, and fresh!! I only wish they had longer hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HDW_Tripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dally in the Alley Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing