We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, pretty girls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #6 of 179 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
1 review
“Great food, pretty girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My co workers and I ate here on our lunch break and we thoroughly enjoyed the quick service, atmosphere, and the food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ats522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    50
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The wait time at the hostess desk is hit or miss. On this visit, it took a full minute before anyone acknowledged I was waiting to be seated. Once seated though, the waitress came right over, got my drink order and returned quickly. The restaurant is a mix of booths and tables with a back room. The AC was just right, (not freezing/not hot) the floors and tables were clean. For lunch, I usually go for the Big Deal pulled pork but today I ordered their steak burger (she suggested bacon to go with it - WIN) medium well, no tomato. The burger came exactly as I ordered, including the side of fries it comes with. The temperature was just right. The un-sweet iced tea was not too strong and not too weak. She remembered the Equal sweetener I requested. She checked on me throughout my lunch. When I asked for the check, she offered me a tea to go. Overall, it was a pleasurable dining experience with a yummy burger and fries, and attentive service one I got past the front desk. (I included a pic of the salad bar but didn't order a salad this time.)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FieryKMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good food, not so good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I was on my lunch break. I waited 7 minutes to be seated, and then 10 minutes before a server came to my table to take my order. My meal came without the fries I ordered. She said they weren't ready yet, but would bring them as soon as they were. I asked for my check as soon as the food was delivered (another 15 minutes) so I wouldn't be late. Never got my fries, never asked if I wanted a drink refill. I have to say, this is my first time at this location. I've never been to any other location where I had these issues. The ironic thing is on the chalkboard as you walk in there was a message that if you show your trip advisor review, you'd get some free food. I'm thinking this review probably won't qualify. Again, Sonny's is excellent, as long as you go to another location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We love Sonnys BBQ! Good food and service every time! My husband and kids love coming here! Best BBQ in deland

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lsquires2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Mmm BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Every time we come it's consistently good. They always make lunch happen with time to enjoy and get back to work without being late.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing