We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #6 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Restaurant details
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

While I have always been a fan of Sonny's Real Pitt BBQ the Sonny's in Deland has really raised the bar, the food is always fresh, the salad bar has a great variety and the service has always been up to par. Shelby was my server upon my last visit, she was attentive as well as very knowledgeable of the menu as she recommended the dieters plate to us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariatqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    50
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
1 review
“Great restaurant ”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The service has always been great every time I have gone. Some of the servers that I have had have been great such as Amanda Brunson, Shelby, Lisa, and Paige. The bar has also been great. The food is always good. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Matt4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great people Great food”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I eat at this sonny's all the time and the food is always fresh and hot. The servers are all so friendly and happy. Food came out fast so I can get in and out during lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpowder80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
1 review
“New store looks great.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been to sonnys all over the state but this one is the best one I've been to. It's unique on the inside but yet still has the classic sonnys feel and taste!

Helpful?
Thank babyseal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Leon Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always good Bar B Q”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Sonny's look most has good slow cooked BBQ, nice portions, and the service is usually pretty good. The dinner portions are good, but the lunch BBQ sandwich is a little thin for my tastes. Sonny's corporate standards are high and this restaurant is one of the good ones.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buffalobob666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing