We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions, over priced, tasteless garlic bread :((”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #6 of 182 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Restaurant details
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
ORANGE CITY, FL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small portions, over priced, tasteless garlic bread :((”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sorry, but this is NOT going to be a good review. I have been to sonnys BBQ all over florida. This one flat out SUCKED!! The charbroiled chicken sandwhich was half the size of the bun, burnt, and grizzly. The garlic bread my daughter wouldnt touch cause it had no flavor. The hot dog bun was stale. The salad bar was ok.. but not that great. We spent 25$ for 3 meals, we all had water.. which to me was way over priced. The french fries look and tasted like they had been refried.. just plain dissastisfied. I should have asked for my money back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    50
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

In my opinion, others come and go but Sonny's is always reliably the best BBQ anywhere. This location is no exception. Word of warning on ANY Sonny's location - If you get takeout, check it because they will try to give you older stuff that would likely get sent back from a table. All Sonny's need to fix this or somebody better will EVENTUALLY take their current place on my list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 88G8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Was not a fan, but NOW I am !!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Lived in Jacksonville for years, Sonny's was a staple, all over town. Was never a fan, just was not impressed. Now we have one in DeLand, wife wanted to go and try them, I went with very little hope of enjoying the dinner. Well, I was very impressed, the brisket was great, get it on the bun, the fries are well cooked, crispy and yummy. The tea with lemon is perfect, great big glass, and they will give you a refill to go !! I have tried the ribs also, they are very tasty, the choice of sauces are all you need, if you think you need them !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripp2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach S
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service okay food from a 1-10 it gets a 6”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My friend and I ate there for lunch Saturday.
They were pretty busy,but got seated right away.
Service was great,food was okay,Iwe got the chicken with 2 sides
chicken had a little pink/red In one of the pieces.
I got indigestion big time I think from the chicken and beans
I believe this Sonny's Is a liitle higher priced then the other ones in the county.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland, Fl
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 strikes and won't go back for the 3rd - No Management”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

2 miserably small pieces of chicken with a handful of fries just doesn't cut it, all at a price above $10. I did like the coleslaw though.

I decide to try it once more a couple weeks later and the ribs were so dry I couldn't eat them.

I frequent the other restaurants in Deland with similar menus and I actually wrote to them through their web site.

They sent me an email that someone would get back with me, it was totally ignored so I guess they lack management skills as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing