We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent buffet”

Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #8 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The restaurant in an old home, built in 1910. It has recently been restored to accentuate it's original beauty and craftsmanship. It is warm and homey, just like home. The beautiful stained glass windows are the homes original windows. The grounds are landscaped with lush green and colorful plants.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent buffet”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food. The entrées and fresh vegetables were prepared very well. The desserts were prepared in-house and were delicious. The restaurant was very clean. I had the roast lamb and my wife had the ham. Both meats were well-prepared. Very tender and tasty. The atmosphere of the restaurant was warm. Our server, Amy, was outstanding and made us feel right at home while providing fine service.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    76
    39
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
palm coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Food was very good. Salad bar was outstanding, real fresh. Great deserts and friendly staff. We both had the lamb and it wad very good. My wife had the peanut butter cake and she loved it.

Helpful?
Thank trenton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, Tasty Buffet”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Not your typical buffet. Salad bar and veggies are self serve and taste homemade. Lots of options on the salad bar, including pasta salad, jello salads, coleslaw and the typical salad fixings. Veggies vary but they always have mashed potatoes and green beans along with several other selections. The meat is hand carved for you. You receive a generous portion of meat (or fish) and can purchase an additional portion if desired. I can tell you that my husband and I find the meat portion to be all we can eat. You can go back for as much salad or veggies as you like. The roast beef is delicious! They also have wonderful looking desserts but we are always to full to sample them. Great service and very nice atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BMSBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Big Send Off from Stetson Univ.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We dropped our son off At Stetson Univ & the last meal we all had together was at Cook's Buffet.
It was Great. Good food & great service, & right across from he campus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NWFLRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cooks is cookin'”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Cook's is cookin'
a couple of weeks ago we had to go to deland, florida. naturally we stopped where we always stop for lunch and that's Cooks. they have been around since 1959, a nice long run, for a good reason, the foods good, prices fair, service great.
they are run like the old holiday house restaurant chain, where for a fixed price you get a buffet style serving of the kind of meat you choose and lots of veggies and salad. although a second serving of meat is a little additional, seconds on the veggies and salad is not. they also have available, if you don't want buffet style, a complete meal special. we had the special, which that day was turkey dinner. I don't exactly remember the price, but I don't believe it was more than $8. the portions were so large that we had to ask for a take home box.
the restaurant itself is so attractive. it's an old house, with lots of windows so you can look out at the lovely, well kept grounds.
the waitresses are so friendly, so knowledgeable and pleasant, they make your meal that much more delightful.
the dessert bar looked spectacular, but after all that food, we just couldn't do it!!
if you're anywhere near deland, Florida, it's worth the stop at. Cooks!!
normandie

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveintoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing