We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!”

Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #8 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The restaurant in an old home, built in 1910. It has recently been restored to accentuate it's original beauty and craftsmanship. It is warm and homey, just like home. The beautiful stained glass windows are the homes original windows. The grounds are landscaped with lush green and colorful plants.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I had the opportunity to stop by Cook's last month, and were very pleased with the food quality, service and the inviting and iconic ambiance. Mike and Star Cook have maintained the high standards for which the Cook family's restaurants are known, and we will be sure to return when we're next in Florida, We will recommend Cook's Buffet to all of our friends and family who pass through the DeLand area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunkawakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    76
    39
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
“Buffet or Cafeteria??”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

One price for either meat or meatless choice of dining experience. Sounds like a buffet ONLY the meat is stingily carved by a "carver" and is a single serving--LIKE A CAFETERIA! No seconds either except for the mediocre salad bar and small array of bland boring vegetables that are seasoned with fake butter. Half of a sliced hoagie roll is provided upon request but drinks and desserts are a la carte! Service is not great, but you mostly serve yourself except for the meat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had lunch there yesterday and can say that it's probably the best meal I've had in weeks. The salad bar was fresh and kept up with. The hot food bar I thought could have had more of a variety of veggies including corn. The only thing I thought was pricey was if you wanted a second serving of meat it was 3.00. To me that's a little steep.
I will definetly be going back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiremaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best all around restaurant experience in Deland!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The place was spotless, including the constantly staffed/refreshed salad and side bar. Fresh carved meats make this a must try! The desserts looked incredible, but I did not have any room to try them :)

I tend to be a restaurant snob, and this place exceeded my expectations all around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaVivian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
571 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best places in Florida Great service great prices
Spotless you will not leave here hungry I would rate this 10 stars if you could. Please try it

Helpful?
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing