We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stetson Mansion

Stetson Mansion
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stetson Mansion is a spectacular Victorian mansion built for famed hat maker and philanthropist John B Stetson in 1886. Situated right between Orlando and Daytona in DeLand makes it convenient for all visiting the central Florida area. This is Florida's first luxury estate and houses some of the most beautiful and intricate parquet floors in the world. The mansion has hosted such noted guests as President Cleveland, King Edward VII, the Astors, the Vanderbilts, Louis C Tiffany and Thomas Edison. In fact this is one of the first homes in the world to be designed and built with Edison electricity and Mr Edison oversaw the install himself. This is not your typical Victorian mansion though. The owners have painstakingly renovated every square inch of the 10,000 sq foot masterpiece while incorporating today's modern conveniences. All this was done without compromising the architectural or historical integrity. Every room on every one of the three floors is magnificently decorated and every room features a different style floor and window design. There is not one room that is off limits for visitors to see on their guided tour, you get to see it all including the owner's suite and the original 1886 schoolhouse which has been lovingly restored and converted to a "Zen"like cottage. There is also a beautiful meditation garden, gazebo and pool area for visitors to enjoy. Reservations are required $20-$30 per person $10 for children. Payment is cash or check at the door and we do charge applicable sales tax.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We live close enough that I can take visitors, especially the ladies, for a tour while the husbands are golfing. Everyone loves it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT T, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the Stetson Mansion with friends and family when they come to town! We hope that in the very near future that the mansion will not be such a secret anymore to the millions of people that visit central Florida every year! Thank you for all your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,457
    77
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming surprises in every room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a delight to visit this amazing home and be guided by JT, one of the owners. It is definitely a must see. No need to repeat the beautiful reviews already stated here. See it for yourself. You won't be disappointed. I know I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank WNissley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT T, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much! I hope people take your advice and make it a point to visit the Stetson Mansion in they live in or are visiting the central Florida area! Thanks for helping us spread the word about our national masterpiece!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, New Jersey
1 review
“Stetson Mansion Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I toured the Stetson Mansion on Valentines Day. The tour is well worth the price of admission. One of the owners (TJ) hijacked the tour ,as they sometimes do,and delighted everyone with the history of the mansion. The lighthearted tour was very informative and interesting at the same time. As an added bonus all of the women on the tour got a red carnation to celebrate Valentines Day.If you get to the Orlando Florida area a side trip to DeLand would be well worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT T, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and wonderful review Lance! Michael and I have done our best to preserve and share all the wonder that the mansion has to offer and we love hearing from folks like yourself that help validate all our effort. We are only 40 minutes from Orlando and one of these days we look forward to sharing the Stetson Mansion with so many more guests from around the world!! Thank you again for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little pricey ($20), need reservations, only Tues. & Thurs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great tour of first two floors; third floor $10 more. Tour given by owners, JT and Michael. They've done a marvelous job restoring the 1886 mansion. The tour was very interesting and entertaining. This is a must see, if you're anywhere near Deland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tcmyhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT T, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting the Stetson Mansion and posting a review! We greatly appreciate it! I understand that you may feel that the mansion tour is pricey but comparatively we are actually a fair value. Unfortunately because of the rising costs for maintenance and upkeep the rate increase was mandatory. Thank you again for choosing to tour the Stetson Mansion and for giving us a top rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been on several tours at the Mansion, attended private events and had an event of my own here! And yes, it feels like home! JT & Michael are very gracious hosts and make you feel like family! Their love of sharing The Mansion with everyone is infectious and very contagious, for I am now in love with her too!!! I am sooo looking forward to the events planned for 2013 and I hope to see YOU at The Mansion! Florida's best kept secret is getting out - so hurry & book your tour!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 124Suzanne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT T, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Suzanne we are so excited that you have such a passion for the history, beauty and grandeur of the Stetson Mansion. You are so right..the secret is slowly but surely getting out and because of this we hope to welcome thousands and thousands of more vistitors to experience the magic of the mansion. Welcome aboard!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stetson Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Stetson Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing