We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Magnificent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stetson Mansion

Stetson Mansion
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stetson Mansion is a spectacular Victorian mansion built for famed hat maker and philanthropist John B Stetson in 1886. Situated right between Orlando and Daytona in DeLand makes it convenient for all visiting the central Florida area. This is Florida's first luxury estate and houses some of the most beautiful and intricate parquet floors in the world. The mansion has hosted such noted guests as President Cleveland, King Edward VII, the Astors, the Vanderbilts, Louis C Tiffany and Thomas Edison. In fact this is one of the first homes in the world to be designed and built with Edison electricity and Mr Edison oversaw the install himself. This is not your typical Victorian mansion though. The owners have painstakingly renovated every square inch of the 10,000 sq foot masterpiece while incorporating today's modern conveniences. All this was done without compromising the architectural or historical integrity. Every room on every one of the three floors is magnificently decorated and every room features a different style floor and window design. There is not one room that is off limits for visitors to see on their guided tour, you get to see it all including the owner's suite and the original 1886 schoolhouse which has been lovingly restored and converted to a "Zen"like cottage. There is also a beautiful meditation garden, gazebo and pool area for visitors to enjoy. Reservations are required $20-$30 per person $10 for children. Payment is cash or check at the door and we do charge applicable sales tax.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Magnificent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

I just returned from my tour at the Stetson Mansion and found it to be one of the most exquisite places I've ever visited. I've been on many mansion tours, including the OHEKA Castle and the Vanderbilt Museum and I've never been more impressed. The grandeur of the Stetson Mansion is incomparable and the tour itself was not only informative but thoroughly entertaining. Our guide (I believe his name is JT) was so full of excitement and energy and he really made the experience even better. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a love of history, architecture or even just a love of beautiful homes.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
I rember your visit because of all your ooo's and ahhh's!! Thank you for all your words of encouragement!! I hope you had a chance to visit downtown after the tour and have a 2for1 coktail at Brickhouse grill! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,457
    77
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A fantastic home - a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our trip to Daytona Beach Shores during the last week in November proved to be cold and windy - not much beach time. With Deland, FL, only being about 25 miles away, it was a great opportunity to visit the Stetson Mansion. My wife had read about it in a newspaper and it was on her "to do list". So we went. You must make reservations (386 490 2054). While doing that ask for directions - the Mansion is not near the Stetson College and it is a little tricky to find. There is a cost. Admission was $17 per person. No discounts for anybody. A little high you say, I thought so, but that was before I got there. FANTASTIC. WORTH THE MONEY, UNBELIEVABLE. We only had 15 people in our tour. Kent the tour guide was great and the group (15) was just right. We were not climbing over each other and there was plenty of room. Because it was the Christmas season, all the rooms had Christmas Decorations. The entrance area was beautiful, the downstairs living room was over the top. Hard to describe, the ad states "Experience the Magic of Christmas" it was more than that. Magic is a delusion this was real and the work that was done putting this together for Christmas was outstanding. Putting this Mansion back together again, now that was a labor of love. What they did was fantastic. The floors, the walls, the windows, just everything about it was great. And it is a home, people do live there year round. You go through the whole house, there are no rooms off limit, and no ropes to stop you from going in. There is also a "School house" outside that is also decorated. The Christmas tour ends January 15th. My understanding it is open all year round for tours. But if you can get there for the Christmas tour, its well worth the time and effort. I said no discounts, but there is, every adult admission, 1 child free admission. The kids will love it. There is one negative - when you see the Candy - its hands off. What temptation.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank jonbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Rainy days can sometimes be a blessing! Thank you for your visit and thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a wonderful review. We are so lucky that we get to share the mansion with folks like you!! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“DeLand's Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

The Stetson Mansion, former home of John B. Stetson, of the Stetson cowboy hat fame, has been impeccably restored and decorated by the present owners. It's one of DeLand's must see attractions if you're into history, architecture or interior design since every nook and cranny- and ceiling- has wonderful detail, a result of the work of both past and present artisans. But what makes it a truly entertaining experience are the stories and insights the owners provide about the mansion's history- a tour not to be missed!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank sej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We are thrilled you had a chance to tour the mansion and see why we feel so incredibly blessed to share it with people. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Real Florida Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The mansion was built in the late 19th Century by John Stetson, founder and owner of the Stetson Hat Company. The house has been restored to its original elegance, with parquet floors and leaded glass windows. The owners solicited artisans and decorators to select a room and give it an up-to-date treatment that is in keeping with the style of the mansion. The effect is spectacular, resulting in a modern, very liveable interior, enclosed in an elegant home. Tours cost $15 per person, and must be arranged in advance. The narration is excellent and complete, without being overdone. Tours last about 2 hours. Ask for lunch recommendations in Deland at the end of the tour.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank LornaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
We are always thrilled when are guests appreciate the way in which we tried to incorporate modern conveniences into the mansion. It took a lot of 16 hour days and lots of love and passion for the home to blend the 2 without comprimising the architectural and historical intergrity. Thanks for sharing your experience!

PS Our tours are now $17 per person but that includes one free children's entry with every paid adult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stetson Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Stetson Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing