We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth A Second Chance”
Review of DeLand Stockyard

DeLand Stockyard
Ranked #37 of 183 Restaurants in DeLand
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Historic 1920's Florida building with rich history inside and out. Inside two dining rooms and a lounge and Bar. Outside courtyard and Bar.
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth A Second Chance”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Heard good comments about this steak house so treated my steak lovin' husband to dinner here. Pleasant Host/Greeter and Server. Rustic atmosphere was comfortable. Only a few diners on this Thursday eve, though more at the bar. Lots of wide screen TVs. Hubby started with shrimp cocktail served with a Gazpacho sauce...tasty. I had fried mushrooms which were good and plentiful. Exceptional Seafood Chowder! Rib Eye steak was not the best quality, but grilled right. I had liver & onions...yes at a steak house, a treat for me. The liver was cooked the way it should be but the gravy was super salty (& I like salt). With no fuss, the chef cooked up another batch served with a dollop of gravy with onions, "eh" to dollop of gravy. Second try was fine. Both entrees came with two sides and rolls. Veggies were good as well as the fries and mashed potatoes. Menu had a good selection of steaks, burgers, sandwiches, pizza, fish and a few chicken entrees. The Seafood Chowder is a must! No dessert and 3 beers with tip totaled $83. It was a bit above average meal, but would give this restaurant a second chance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NanC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    73
    31
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oh No! Don't Go”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Greeted nicely. Horrible horrible fat steak and prime rib. At least 50% fat. Dishes were dirty, stained. Ordered 2 cups of coffee 2 small creamers came to share. Cups were stained. No spoons on the table to stir the coffee. When we asked the server he brought 1 spoon to share. People were sending plates back left and right. One young man had to put his foot under the table to stop it from tipping over. I'm sorry I can't even say the rolls were good. Don't waste your money.

Helpful?
2 Thank Persnickityme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I guess I'm spoiled being from Texas, but this place was just not worth the money to me. Service was ok. The place needs a complete redecoration...and maybe reorganization while it's at it. Prices were high for the quality of food and service. I've had a better steak in my own back yard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormyknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Ate here during Daytona Speedweeks and was very impressed. The service was quick and the staff was very polite and informative. I had the ribeye and it was cooked to perfection as were the side dishes. The atmosphere was good and I liked looking at all the old pictures on the wall. This will definitely be on my return list

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Three times charmed”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I've been three times, and I grow more impressed each visit. I've had the burger, which was delicious, great texture and flavor and cooked perfectly to my specifications. I've had the steak, which was also very good, and cooked perfectly. Each time I noticed the cornflake/pecan crusted chicken, so this last visit I decided to try that. It was poetry in my mouth. Seriously good.
The service has always been great, and yesterday the bartender came to our table to make sure the drinks were up to par, which they were.
I don't find the Stockyard to be overpriced, it's not a cheap place, but it's not overly expensive. They serve quality food that is prepared well and there is thought and imagination that goes into the preparation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DeLand Stockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing