We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeLand Stockyard

DeLand Stockyard
Ranked #39 of 179 Restaurants in DeLand
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic 1920's Florida building with rich history inside and out. Inside two dining rooms and a lounge and Bar. Outside courtyard and Bar.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very good. I think the waiters wasn't very friendly, but maybe she was just having a bad day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    29
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Deland, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great steakhouse in western DeLand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

They opened up a year or so ago and I'd heard both good and not so good things about this restaurant. Stacey and I decided to go last night to check it out for ourselves and we were not disappointed. We took another friend with us and got there about 7pm. There was a good sized crowd in this old and rather dark building. The walls were all dark wood and looked like the building had been there for decades. The service was prompt, efficient and friendly. The food was delicious. We started our meal with a shrimp cocktail that was jumbo shrimp in a gazpacho type sauce full of baby shrimp. It was more of a single person appetizer than one to share as it was like eating a cut of gazpacho but it was very good. We also shared an order of calamari that was very flavorful and perfectly cooked and served with 2 different sauces. Stacey and Jarry had prime rib for the main course that was beautifully cooked and quite tasty. I had the rib eye and it did not disapoint me. It was cooked to perfection and the flavor was marvelous. The main course came with choice of two sides and we all had the salad with their homemade blue cheese dressing that was very thick and full of blue cheese chunks. The salad itself was very cold and crisp. We all had potatoes but theirs were baked and mine was a twice baked potato. They came with all the butter and sour cream you could possibly need. All things considered this is a very nice restaurant with some of the best steaks in the area. We will definately return when the need for a good steak returns.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pblanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland, Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very good steak /prime rib cooked to perfection. Twice baked potato was ymmy, veggies crisp not overcooked. Excellent service . Will go back4sure

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TweetybirdDeland_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volusia County, FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Prime Rib, Good Service and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Five of us were pleased with dinner at the DeLand Stockyard.
Our experience started with a shared "onion loaf" appetizer. We generally thought it was much better than the "blooming onion" served at other restaurants. These onions were very thinly sliced, coated with batter and served in the shape of a loaf pan. It did not seem greasy, just crispy. We may like "bloomin onion" at other locales. Onions are thicker and they are more greasy.
Three of five diners had prime rib...in varying degrees of "doneness". All were pleased. Although all ordered the 12-ounce size, it was more than enough for seniors and doggie bags were taken home.
The fourth diner had the top sirloin entree, approved of the way it was cooked, and took some home. It was rated as a 10-ounce piece of meat.
The fifth diner liked the seafood chowder as an appetizer, He had a pecan-corn-flake-crusted chicken entree.
The side dishes (two per entree) were good.

Two slips were noted, but did not deter much from the total dining experience. Bread and butter were promised with all entrees, but never arrived. We were devouring the onion loaf and mostly did not miss any additional bread. The menu stated that something called "Texas bread pudding" came with each prime rib entree. It sounded different and interesting, but did not arrive on any dinner dish.

No room to sample dessert. Glasses of house wine (white zin and merlot) were reasonably priced.at $4 a glass.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fltraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUR FAVORITE PLACE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Been 3 times! WE decided that every Thursday we would be there from now on. Ladies night, (ladies half off!) What a bargain!! Try the $9 prime rib, best I have had since moving to Florida 22 years ago!! Caesar salad made in house. Very extensive menu, something for everybody. Met Dean, the owner, he couldn't do enough for us! I have programmed my VOR, er, GPS di-rect Stockyard! Best, Frogger & Jan

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frogger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeLand Stockyard also viewed

 

Been to DeLand Stockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing