We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best eco tour along the St. Johns River!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron River Tours

Blue Heron River Tours
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We operate a 45 foot, 49 passenger Coast Guard licensed tour boat out of Hontoon Landing Resort and Marina in Deland, Florida.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best eco tour along the St. Johns River!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

What a fantastic way to spend two hours! This reasonably priced boat ride is worth far more than the price. Captain Gary knows this river. There's nothing you can't ask that he can't answer. We saw lots of birds, manatee and gators. Bring your camera! The imposing Cypress trees gently frame scenes which result in phenomenal photos. Thank you for showing me the St. Johns River in a new way!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank InletDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueheronrivertours, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for the nice comments about our tour. We work hard to try to give our passengers an authentic "Old Florida" experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip with Blue Heron River Tours.

Hope to see you again on the river,
Captain Gary S. Randlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackfoot, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great river / Eco tour in Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went on this 2 hour tour on the St. John and Dead Rivers with our son's family. Captain Gary & crew safely navigated us along these rivers pointing out alligators, manatees, tons of bird life, even a snake. It was a wonderful family experience and so reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great Florida experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our extended family all went on a tour with Capt. Gary and everyone, ages 4 to 84, loved it!
Capt. Gary helped us learn about and appreciate all kinds of Florida wildlife: manatees, birds, alligators, to name a few. We also learned about the river, the history of the area and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more.
This is my third time on the tour and I love it every time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travora2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huntoon island river tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The best 2 hours you will spend. Lots of birds and captain has extensive knowledge about the birds and all life on the river. Saw so many gators , we lost count. You can walk around the pontoon boat. Ask any question, they probably know the answer. Saw manatee at the entrance to the blue spring. This trip can be done more than a once if you love being out on the river.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jperreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good half day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

saw many creatures, historic information relayed and an Osprey nest in a sign in the middle of the river

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BMW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing